Duct Tape – Product with a Million Uses

One only needs two tools in life: WD-40 to make things go, and duct tape to make them stop.
G. Weilacher

How often have you observed people’s ability to take a perfectly ordinary utilitarian product and turn it into something quite extraordinary, or at the very least unexpected? You know, things like wine bottle corks that become bulletin boards, plastic milk jugs that are made into lamps… stuff like that. Another product that is very versatile and has been used to make all sorts of things is Duct Tape.

Duct Tape – I can’t picture a roll of it without thinking of The Red Green Show,  specifically the segment called  Handyman Corner. There wasn’t a thing Red couldn’t fix if he used enough rolls of Duct Tape. In one episode, he tried to duct tape the Ontario-Quebec border as a potential solution to Quebec separatism, (and who can dispute the fact that so far it has worked… )

The Car Guy and I got these wonderful duct tape gifts this year from the Middle Daughter and her husband. On the left is my shiny black purse, and on the right is his two tone wallet (complete with some Canadian Tire money.)

A quick search of the internet turns up any number of sites that feature Duct Tape Projects: Duck Tape Club and Duct Tape Crafts are just a few I found.

Personally, I will be making some sort of protective case for my new iPad2, perhaps using some of the features that Coregeek demonstrates in the  iPad2 Duct Tape Folio Smart Case. It utilizes embedded magnets to take advantage of the magnetic properties of the iPad2.

Magnetism is one of the Six Fundamental Forces of the Universe, with the other five being Gravity, Duct Tape, Whining, Remote Control, and The Force That Pulls Dogs Toward The Groins Of Strangers.
Dave Barry

_________________________________________

My Similar Duct Tape Story: My Caption is in the Running - my duct tape reference for a caption contest

20 thoughts on “Duct Tape – Product with a Million Uses

  1. I think I’ll go check the projects out. Duct tape really is a versatile and handy product to have. Thanks for sharing the creative and fun side of it. :)

  2. My family is hooked on Red Green. I wonder this about the inventor of duct tape (I imagine a burly guy with something hefty to mend): what would he think of his product being used to make purses?

    • Hi Lorna – It is nice to find another fan of the Red Green Show! Apparently duct tape was first used extensively by the military in WWII, and I expect they never thought the tape would eventually be used for making purses!

  3. Hi,
    I agree, duct tape is great for fixing things, it really does come in handy. I didn’t know you could make different things out of it, I have learned something new again today. :)

  4. It is a great product and now its available in all different colors and patterns. I haven’t seen The Red Green Show in years. Before we broke down and bought a satellite dish and we got 2 or 3 channels with our rabbit ears antenna, that show would pop up on one of the local channels. Funny stuff.

    • Hi BRC – I’ve heard there are lots of colors and patterns, but haven’t looked for a source. Glad you enjoyed The Red Green Show. It is a good example of Canadian humour!

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

