How to Replace iTunes with CopyTrans Manager

I’ve inherited several iPods from my husband. He has graduated to an iTouch, leaving me with several Nanos that he no longer wants. I decided to put my Christmas music on the smaller size one, and the rest of my music on the other. I downloaded iTunes onto my computer. The installation took quite a long time, and installed a lot of other things on my computer as well. Then I discovered that iTunes wouldn’t let me put the music from the iPods into my iTunes, so I went through all the steps that would transfer the music from my husbands computer to my computer into my iTunes.

This took me most of the evening to figure out, and when I was done, well, I was tired and I still didn’t have everything working right. I plan on buying a new computer soon, and I didn’t want to go through this whole thing again, so the next day I went online and searched for an easier way to manage my music. I came across a free program called CopyTrans Manager . The simplicity of it is that the program  resides right on your iPod, and you can use your iPod on any computer without having to use iTunes.

Once I had my iPod humming along with CopyTrans Manager, I removed iTunes, and all the other little programs it had installed. Then I realized that I couldn’t play iTunes music on my computer, because my computer doesn’t have the codecs to play AAC (M4A) files. So I downloaded and installed the correct codecs from Orban. Now I can play AAC files while my iPod is connected to my computer.

All that I am missing is the ability to convert MP3 or Wav files into AAC files. Which, of course, iTunes can do. But iTunes is on my husbands computer, so he can do that if I need it.

I certainly understand all the benefits of using iTunes.  I just don’t want to live with all the limitations the program also imposes. So I prefer the simplicity of a program like CopyTrans Manager.

Post 04

 

One comment

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

