The Internet Browser War

In my last post, I told you about Four Footed Browsers. In this post, I will tell you about Internet Browsers. Actually, I won’t bother to tell you too much. You are reading this blog because you have an Internet Browser, so you already know about as much as I do.

As for a War,  two browsers are locked in combat on my computer as I write. Each one wants to be the Default Browser on Start up. Why would they be so insistent? I would have to say it isn’t just for the prestige. There has to be a big financial pay off somewhere, yes?

All the major Internet Browsers are free. The features are all pretty similar, with most of them now offering security items such as pop-up blocker, anti-spyware, anti-virus, and anti-phishing. The most popular are Firefox, Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer (IE), Opera, and Safari.

I was using IE8, but now I am also using Firefox. Some of my WordPress.com blogging account features work best with Firefox. Firefox is a great browser for folks that like to add stuff on to the basic package. I added a tool called Adblock Plus. When I open a web page that has an advertisement I really don’t want to see, I call on my Adblock Plus tool. Like a Super Hero, Adblock tells the offending ad to go away. Most of the time, anyhow. I’m still learning how to use it properly. IE8 has a built in adblocking feature called InPrivate Filtering which you have to initially turn on, then invoke each time you open the program.

It is not that I don’t want Ads at all. Just like magazine or television ads, advertisement is what pays the bills so that users like myself don’t have to pay a gazillion dollars to read or watch the interesting stuff. I just find some ads on the computer more annoying than others because the same ad appears over and over again. I got the “unwanted belly fat” and “cheap coupons” message the first 10 times I saw it in 5 minutes. How they know I have unwanted belly fat is what bothers me most…

So who is going to win the Browser War on my computer? Right now it is Firefox, but when IE9 comes out, maybe I’ll switch. Or maybe I’ll try one of the others. I don’t think there is that much difference between them. The most important thing is, no matter which browser you use, use the latest version, keep it updated, and understand how to configure each of the safety features.

That is the great thing about the Browser Wars. It means there is competition, and that is what keeps making the product better and better. What more can you ask for in something that is Free!

Post 95

 

2 comments

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

