When you are Vertically Challenged – Hope for a Shopping Cart

I am Vertically Challenged. Years of Hope did not make me taller than 5 ft 2 inches. At least, I tell myself I was once 5 ft 2, but every visit to the Doctors office suggests either my memory is faulty, or I am shrinking.
In the photo below is our Vertically Challenged toy shopping cart at the cabin. I parked it between the two golf carts. I could imagine the little cart saying, “Wow, when I grow up, I hope I am as big as them!”

It’s a new era at Disney. From now on, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs will be known as Person of No Color and the Seven Vertically Challenged Individuals.
– Argus Hamilton –

Post 98

44 comments

    • Hi Martin – 5 ft 2, eyes of brown, being short just gets me down… The world is full of people taller than me, and they are always in front of me at a parade, museum, art gallery, car show!

      Like

    • Hi RVingGirl – My husband has a follically challenged spot near the top of his head. He is not Vertically Challenged, so most people don’t even see his follically challenged bit.

      Like

    • Hi Pensioner – No, I don’t seem to be getting smaller – shorter maybe, but not smaller!
      The golf carts are our main mode of transportation at the cabin. Unfortunately, there is no place to shop there!

      Like

  1. Hi Margie,
    I am 5′ 2 and half inches tall, that half an inch makes a huge difference I feel. 😀
    I love your little cart so cute looking parked there between the 2 big ones.
    I had to laugh at your quote about Snow White, PC gone mad. 🙂

    Like

      • I just couldn’t imagine sitting down with a child and saying, I am now going to read you a story about “Person of No Color and the Seven Vertically Challenged Individuals”. It just sounds very odd to me, they would have to change a lot of words in the story too I assume. No I feel it would not be the same story at all. 😦

        Like

    • Hi Lorna – I take pictures because the scene says something to me. It wouldn’t say the same thing if I was as tall as most of the people around me! I expect I would think less like a child if I was taller, too. The admonition “Grow Up! has less effect on a short person, I guess.

      Like

  2. I always used to say, “It’s not that I’m fat, I’m just vertically challenged for my weight.”

    I checked my height while waiting for 1/2 hour (wearing nothing but a paper drape) in my doctor’s examining room last week, and I seem to now be 5’4″. It can’t be! I’ve always been 5’5″. Even a little taller than that. I’m turning into a hunchy-back crone!

    Like

    • Well, Peg, I’d love to be 5’4″. According to BMI calculations, I would be an absolutely normal weight if I was as tall as you!
      Aren’t those paper gowns delightful?! It seems to me the medical system should be paying us, not the Doctor, for all the time we have spent sitting in paper gowns.

      Like

      • That’s the cruel punchline to this joke. The BMI chart was right above the scale/height measurer thingy. After losing 60 pounds I thought I was right where I needed to be. But if I’m shorter, I’m technically still overweight. Sigh.

        Like

    • Thanks for visiting Fake – Genghis Khan was 5’1″ and he had one of the largest empires in history. He was pretty brutal though, so I hope when the short people eventually take over, they are a bit kinder.

      Like

  3. from one shopping cart to another … maybe being vertically challenged allows us to see more of the world … everyone else is so busy looking down, that they forget to look up? cute photo

    Like

    • Hi ntexas – I have to agree that a person’s height influences what they see of the world. My husband, who is 6’1″ often sees people he knows when he is in a crowd at the airport. I don’t, because I mostly see people’s backs or chests!

      Like

  4. Margie, I am a little shorter than you. Today I looked for new gloves and after trying a few pairs I was wondering if I had walked into the men’s department. No, I am now the happy owner of a pair of children’s gloves. Black, no little princess colour at least!
    Amazingly people barely notice I’m shorter than them when they meet me.

    Like

    • Hi Sanetes – Welcome, fellow short person! I am fairly normal in all dimensions except the length of my legs. I’d love to be able to buy clothes in the kids department – I love the sneakers that light up, and the bright fabric on their ski jackets! Alas, I have to buy boring adult clothes!

      Like

  5. So cute. I was always the “tall” sister and longed to be shorter like my sisters. My wise mother always told me to stand up straight and that some day I’d be glad. Now I am because I think it helps hide some of my extra pounds. However – my recent doctor visits and measurements indicate shrinkage too….such is the circle of life.

    Like

    • Hi Marcie – Apparently we reach our peak height by age 40 and can lose up to 2 inches in height between ages 50 and 80. A similar loss in weight doesn’t seem to occur….

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

