The Versatile Blogger Award

There are a number of Awards that Bloggers bestow on one another. These awards are very nice, because they don’t require a nomination committee, nor a round of voting. They are just one blogger saying they like the work of another blogger. All very civilized.

One of these Awards is the prestigious Versatile Blogger Award. At least, I’m going to assume it is prestigious because I see a number of very fine bloggers have gotten one. So I was honored to have received this award from Tien at Tien Unscripted. Tien is an International Student in New Zealand, born in Malaysia. She is an enthusiastic new blogger as you will see when you visit her site. Thank-you Tien!

A Blogger Award is a bit like a chain letter. My friends will tell you that I am usually the dead-end link of any chain that arrives at my house. Of course, these usually involve recipes, and I really don’t want another 100 or 2000 ones that I will never cook. But a Blogger Award is a different animal.

So I will accept it with honour and abide by most of the RULES: The recipient has to:
– Thank the person who awarded you and link to his/her blog
– Tell 7 random facts about yourself
– Pass the award to 15 new found bloggers
– Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to, and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it…or not.

7 Random Facts:
1. I am short. I can stand up under the overhead luggage compartments of an airplane without stooping at all.
2. My Christmas tree is still up. No decorations, but it is still up.
3. I eat a bit of dark chocolate every day.
4. I like Murder Mysteries. I like to watch them. I like to read them.
5. Calvin and Hobbes is my all time favourite cartoon strip.
6. Honour and Favourite can be spelled with a ‘u’ and I wish the spell checker would quit marking them as  misspelled words.
7. We have a Bone Marrow Transplant survivor in our family.

Next, I have to pass this award on to 15 new found bloggers. As you may remember, I am interested in statistics. So, if I pass this award to 15 bloggers this week, and they each pass it on to 15 bloggers next week, and each of them passes it on the following week, (the philosophy of the chain letter at work here) then in just 6 weeks 11,390,625 bloggers will have received this Award. I Googled “Versatile Blogger Award” and found 967,000 results relating to an award that appears to have been born in mid 2010. So I guess quite a few people have broken the chain!

While I don’t plan on breaking the chain, I would like to send this award to just 5 Special New Blogs that I’ve found. All of these people are very Versatile. It is just one of the many skills a person needs in order to carve out a life after the intensity of diseases such as cancer.

1. Hemlock1981 – a Bone Marrow Transplant survivor in the American Military
2. mar510 – a Bone Marrow Transplant survivor. A very short story. I hope the writer is okay.
3. Miss Melanoma – a Melanoma Cancer survivor.
4. Battling Breast Cancer with Class – a Breast Cancer survivor.
5. Reservoir Blog – an athlete with cancer.

Please be sure to visit each and every one of these blogs. Their stories are remarkable, and their blogs will lead you to many more blogs that tell stories of remarkable courage and determination.

Cancer is not a sentence, just a word.
– John R. McFarland, from Now That I have Cancer I am Whole –

It will come as a shock to no one that cancer isn’t something you put on your “List of Things to Do Today.”
– Erma Bombeck, I Want to Grow Hair… –

Post 136

 

9 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. You’re very welcome Margie! I liked how you calculated the numbers 😉 Your list of recipients looks very interesting indeed. I will make sure to check them out one by one.

    Like

    • Yes, I sound (I guess that would be read) much taller than I am!

      We’re very proud of our BMT survivor, and our BMT donor, and the whole rest of the family for all the care and support they showed us all!

      Like

  2. congrats on the award Midge… I still read all of your stuff… i can see why you got that award.. your stuff is indeed versatile and very well done… say hello to car guy for me.. and stay warm.. smiles..

    Like

    • I’ve broken absolutely every chain mail I have ever received, except this one. I think the requirement of finding new blogs to pass the recognition to is a good one. I chose Cancer blogs because I have never gone looking for those good people to see what they are writing about. I have to admit that their stories were both inspirational and painful, as they brought back memories of the same hopes and fears our family had a few years back.

      Like

  3. I don’t ever expect to get this award … I’m not versatile at all, just good at being very silly. 😉

    I like how you took a fun idea and turned it into a post that honors your award recipients – thank you for the suggestions! I read Hemlock’s blog already, and I look forward to checking out the rest.

    Like

    • You were in my head as a nominee, along with Hemlock. But then I thought that there had to be other people out there who were Bone Marrow Transplant survivors. That lead to Cancer survivors too, and thus the theme of my list.
      That is not to say that you shouldn’t get a Versatile, though I agree that there should be an entirely different award for people with your unique abilities. As far as I can see, anyone can start an Award, and then send it off into the Blog world to see how it will grow. I am thinking of starting a “People who have Never Been Freshly Pressed” Award. You could Possibly start the Snark Award?

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

