Bloggers that Post Once a Day

Happy April Fools Day, all. When we were kids, we called it April Spruce Cake. Our misinterpretation of the intent of the day was based, I guess, on our hope that there was something more to it than a few lame jokes.

Totally unrelated to the day: WordPress has a Post-a-Day Challenge called Daily Post. The idea is that WordPress Bloggers post something every day, thus building a community of people who want to be more active writers, bloggers, and creators. While I admire those who can do this, I’m not sure I can keep up with doing a daily post. But it is something I am willing to try.

I’ll have to find something much interesting and creative in order to post once a day. Unfortunately, I have yet to come up with the right thing. Others have, though, and here are some of the ones I’ve found. Maybe they will inspire you to start a blog of 365 things too. Or maybe you will think of something very creative that you think I could do and blog about for 365 days… If you have some ideas for me, remember that I am a Jack of All Trades, Master of None, basically quite lazy person.

Make a Book a Day: Donna Meyer wanted to stretch herself in many ways as an artist and a person, to set up a discipline, stick with it and see what that teaches her. She chose to do this by making a Book a Day.

A LEGO a Day: Combining LEGO mini-figures with actual backgrounds, the LEGO a Day site is well into the second year of publishing entertaining dioramas. The site just celebrated 1 million views, a tally I expect on my blog in about 54 years.

Skull-a-Day: Now into his fourth year of skulling, Noah Scalin, posted his own creations for a year. After that, skulls took on a life of their own, and Noah posts submissions from his readers. At least three bloggers took on skull-a-day projects as well.

The Julie/Julia Project: Julie Powell was looking for a challenge. 365 days. 536 of Julia Child’s recipes. It worked out well for her. A Book deal, then the book was made into a Movie. I liked the book, and loved the Movie. But her personal life got a bit strange after that, so I quit following it in the media.

Collection a Day: Lisa Congdon described her project as photographs of one of her own collections or a drawing or painting of an imagined collection. It was made into a book.

Daily Drop Cap: Jessica Hische posted an illustrative initial cap each day to prettify the internet and beautify readers blog posts.

A Year of Slow Cooking: Stephanie O’Dea has done well with her Crockpot. She has lots of recipes, and a couple of books! I think the recipe called Slow Cooker Root Beer Pulled Pork is one I could pull off…

365 Spiders: Amy makes her spiders out of wire and beads. They are very beautiful little creatures.

Well, it just dawned on me that I could do a Post-a-Day of photos of Unfinished Projects that lurk in all corners of the Red House. Like this nice little cross-stitch English Country Scene that is about 1/3 done.

Wait a minute – here is a blog called The Unfinished Project Project. But this person actually tries to complete all the unfinished projects. As does Mama Bee at Mama Bee’s 101 Things in 1001 Days.

I, on the other hand, don’t have those expectations, so perhaps that would make my blog unique… Maybe I have found my 365 project – The Red House of Unfinished Things...

Post 137

 

6 comments

  1. Hi Margie, thanks for including a link to my blog in your blog! Good luck to anyone with enough commitment to blog once a day. wish I could commit to finishing one unfinished project per day!

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

