To Comment or Not to Comment, That is the Question

I have heard writers say that their Characters take on a life of their own, and the author is just there to transcribe. I didn’t really believe that until I started this blog. My blog is the voice of just one character, yet most times I have no idea where this person is going to go until I start to write. (I have been accused of sometimes opening my mouth to speak before engaging my brain, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.)

Once upon a time… I think I have written this before.

Oh, I might have an idea of what I think I want to say, but I really don’t know where the topic is going to go, nor what it will look like, until it is done. I just start with a beginning, work through the middle bits, and end it by checking to see if I am anywhere close to confirming what I started with. Then I’m finished, hopefully in less than 500 words and a picture or two. (Blogs are very short stories…)

I send it off to the Blogosphere, where you, the readers and critics, decide its fate. For the most part, you are a silent bunch and I really can’t see your heads nodding or your faces frowning no matter how hard I envision it. Some of you leave Comments to let me know you are out there, but most don’t. No time, no interest or maybe a hesitation to commit. After all, a Comment requires a name, an email address and a thought, at the very least. That is a lot to ask of a casual passerby, isn’t it?

Comments have a purpose, though, well beyond a congratulatory pat on the back. They give you folks – the editors, critics, and review boards – the chance for input. They let fellow bloggers leave a trail of crumbs to other blogs and ideas. They create a community. Writing may be a solitary process, but blogging isn’t

End of Week Notes:

Did you know that your Email Address is safe when you leave it in a comment at a WordPress.com blog? WordPress won’t let anyone steal your address and then send you spam. The Happiness Engineers told me so.

Google Search is an amazing tool. I wrote a post about our 1980 Corvette, and when I Google it, it shows up on the 4th page. Google found it because it is the name of the title, I guess. But if I Google 1980 Corvette Wendy, Google moves it up to Number 1. Google found Wendy in the content of the blog, and thought it was the best match for someone looking for a 1980 Corvette  named Wendy.

Lastly, someone wisely said, “To be or not to be … I think it’s a trick question.” And that brings me back to the beginning of this post, sort of.

Post 143

 

12 comments

  1. HI Margie,
    Very well said. The theory goes, 1 comment for every 100 visitors or so, how true that is I don’t really know, It is nice to get a comment every now and then, I have “met” some lovely people in the blogoshpere from all walks of life, and different parts of the world. Today I met another.
    Thank You for visiting my blog.

    Like

    • I absolutely agree about how some posts have lives of their own. My post about the 1980 Corvette was the hands down winner in views until I wrote a post about my research on what kind of pots and pans to buy for an induction cooktop. And of course, neither of those posts has had a single comment!

      Like

  2. This is a good post. I have comments on my blog but I also have a a Facebook page I post the link of my latest article. Some people comment on FB so I do not see their comment on my blog but my visitor counter lets me know I am getting visitors.

    It works for me.

    Like

  3. I never noticed that with blogs, but now that you point it out it seems so obvious, especially since I write in a multiplicity of characters on my blog.

    I certainly notice it when I write fiction, but I guess I had a mindset about blogs that made me ignore the fact that there were characters.

    In addition to that, there’s also the phenomena of the writing trance. I had noticed that in both my fiction and blogs (I liken it to that moment just after you’ve vomited) but for some, reason dismissed it in my blogs. Odd because I use that feeling to determine whether I’ve written something well.

    Like

    • I like the idea that you write in a multiplicity of characters. Even if you don’t get a lot of comments, you can still bring a number of ideas to your stories just by listening to each of your own characters.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

