A Fiery Birthday Story

It would be quite all right for me to take the day off today and not write in my blog. It is my Birthday, and I believe a birthday should be a day of indulgence.

But I enjoy writing and I like my blog. It is akin to having a child that isn’t ever going to be a teenager. Or owning a cat that doesn’t shed or claw the furniture or choke up fur balls. Or a job I can do from home in my pajamas. Or a car that never needs gas… (Actually, I have a car like that. My  Spousal Unit, The Car Guy, is very good about keeping my car clean, serviced, and gassed up.)

So what else have I got planned for the day? I’m not sure yet, but it certainly IS NOT going to involve a birthday cake. The candles are getting so numerous that they pose a fire hazard.

I’m not going to talk about getting older either, because, there is no upside to thinking those kinds of self defeating thoughts. As Bernard B. Baruch said, “To me, old age is 15 years older than I am.”  Helen Hayes echoed that idea when she said: “Age is not important unless you’re a cheese.”

Most days, if I didn’t look in the mirror, I would be the same person I was 20 or 30 or 40 years ago. Except I am more sure of my opinions. Although, as Dave Barry points out: “I’ve been hanging around with people roughly my age for the bulk of my life, and I frankly do not feel that, as a group, we have acquired the wisdom and maturity needed to run the world, or even necessarily power tools.” So, although I might seem confident, you should be wary around me if I’m holding anything that is plugged into a wall socket.

Well, enough of that. I’m off to indulge myself on the next thing that pops into my head. I believe it might involve chocolate…

Post 160

 

18 thoughts on “A Fiery Birthday Story

  1. Happy Birthday! Gosh, it seems like just last year we were celebrating one of your ‘significant’ birthdays at Blenheim Palace, trying to find a picnic spot amongst the geese and sheep poo. Good times!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by on my birthday! I went for a long walk and had a nap. Now I’m contemplating where the Car Guy and I will go for dinner. Pretty good day, all in all.

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday Midge! Sounds like you had it all under control in a good way! As Pat always says to me when I start to fret a birthday – “you are only as old as you think you are! ” I think I am only 29!

    Like

    • Thanks for the greetings! We don’t have AARP cards here in Canada, but I am certainly going to take your advice and extend my celebration well beyond a single day!

      Like

  3. I read something recently that talks about counting your age in the numbers of years you have left. Presumably the number is smallest that way! I like it, though. Kind of speaks to what we have left to contribute. For me, I think the best is yet to come!

    Like

    • I suppose the younger you are, the easier it is to think about age in terms of how many years you have left. The older you get, the more disheartening that model would be. Personally I like to think my time on earth is eternal – though only part of it will be spent above ground level…

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

