Button Up for Winter – Closing Down the Cabin

I stayed at the cabin for most of the first half of October.  Besides spending many hours taking fall pictures and listening to the sound of crunching leaves beneath my feet, I got everything ready so that when The Car Guy arrived we could Button Up the Cabin for Winter.

The shut down process isn’t complicated, just time consuming. Anything that won’t survive six months of freeze is packed up and taken home.  Anything that we might want at home during the winter is packed up too. Lawn furniture, bikes, golf cart and toys are put under cover. Water lines are drained. Anti-freeze is poured. The blinds are pulled. The door is locked. I cry a bit, and we go home.

The cabin won’t be without occupants, however. As we moved things out, the two spotted ladybug was moving in. Our province is host to many species of ladybugs, but the native one, and the bug least frequently seen, is the two spotted one!

Spiders will move in too. I’ll find their webs everywhere when we open up the cabin next April. We’ll move back in, and the bugs will  move outside. The cycle will start again.

What bugs do you share your home with?

Post 243

27 thoughts on “Button Up for Winter – Closing Down the Cabin

  1. I try not to share my home with any bugs, But if I had a choice, ladybugs would be welcome to our house-guests. 😉
    Such bittersweet sentiments. You leave as the sleepy world shuts it’s eyes to go to sleep for the winter and in the Spring it’ll wake up and be ready to welcome you when you return. 🙂

    Like

  2. Aw. The feeling of leaving the cabin is sad. But think of the delight when you get to return! When my marriage ended, so did my affiliation with that “piece of heaven” on the lake that was to be our retirement home. I left all the properties to him. He gets to go through that ritual alone now.

    I miss the place, but not the ritual. It’s only a place. Heaven rests in my free heart.

    Like

  3. Two-Spotted Ladybugs– who knew??

    I love end-of-the-season stuff. Just call me Mr. Melancholy. (No, don’t– I was just kidding. I think…)

    Gorgeous photo– I could see that hanging on many a wall.

    We heat with wood, which I haul in and stack in the garage. It keeps the spiders out of the house. Well, mostly… : )

    Always enjoy my visits here– I leave happier than when I arrived. Also loved the photo of the young lad looking out at the river, and the Carrot Quote made me laugh. Thanks, Margie!

    Like

    • Hi CE – Yes, I think that is the part of cabin close up that bothers me the most. I was planting garlic in the garden yesterday, and the ground is starting to freeze. Every morning we wake to heavy frost on everything. Even if the snow holds off for months, it is still going to be warm coat weather for the next 5 or 6 months. While the global temperature may have warmed by a degree or so, it just doesn’t make much difference to humans when the thermometer dips below freezing for months on end.

      Like

  4. We share our house with “Asian” ladybugs http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmonia_axyridis which most people just call ladybugs and Boxelder Bugs http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boisea_trivittata which are creepy things, but we’ve just learned to deal with it. A couple times a year, for example, right now when we have some warm sunny autumn days, they come out in the thousands and swarm the south side of the house where the sun is.

    Like

    • Hi BRC – I think I would be happy to see the ladybugs, but not so happy to see the Boxelder Bugs. I’ve lived in places where roaches were an issue – I didn’t like them at all!

      Like

  5. Sort of bittersweet – this closing down for the winter. But – as you point out – the seasons change…come and go. What a gorgeous spot!!!

    Like

    • Hi Marcie – The upside to the end of the season is that I can put away my travel bag, food cooler, and golf clubs. It does get a bit tiring packing that stuff back and forth each week!

      Like

  6. I have a cabin in the mountains. I get there every 4 to 6 weeks but sometimes winter weather keeps me from it for longer periods. I do a shortened version of closing it down every time I leave. Like you said, it’s not complicated, just time-consuming. And I am always sad to leave……………..

    Like

    • Hi winsomebella – Yes, we do the shortened version every time we leave the cabin too – empty fridge of food that won’t keep until the next visit, vacuum up any dust bunnies that are larger than a golf ball, close up umbrellas, put lawn chair cushions inside, turn off water, lock up.

      Like

  7. First, great photography. Sharing bugs in my home…..living in the Deep South we get a lot of critters. We moved in on them so we have a push and pull cohabitation. Like termites and cockroaches are the mainstay of the south so we have learned that it is ongoing battle with no winner of the war.
    We have ladybugs and cicadas. Cicadas sing so loud in the evening that they over run the sound of the TV. But I wouldn’t change that. And my childhood favorite, fire flys. Ah, the South.

    Like

  8. Even though I know it’ll start getting chilly here in Kanazawa in mid-Nov., it’s been sunny and 22C all week! I’ve been gone from Michigan so long that I forget the northern parts of the US and Canada have practically declared it winter. (Winter is not very cold here, but it is disgustingly wet.) Lovely colors on the first photo.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

