Comments, Halloween and a Blog Birthday

Comments
My post last week, Comments Etiquette – All or Some?, generated more comments than any other post I have written. The majority consensus was that it is just plain polite to reply to every comment on your blog. But it was acknowledged that very popular blogs might generate more comments than it is possible to respond to. As for leaving comments, some bloggers like to push the ‘Like Button’, especially when there are already lots of comments, and they have nothing new to add!

Halloween
The Car Guy did the shopping for Halloween this year – one box of 125 mini chocolate bars. I wasn’t surprised when we still had 125 mini chocolate bars at the end of the evening… okay, there were 121 bars left. We sampled a few ourselves.

Many thanks to all of you who read my Halloween Blog Post from last year. It was called Pumpkin Face, and it explained why I am unhappy with the commercialized, politically correct holiday that has replaced the Halloween of days gone by.

Blog Birthday
It has been two years since I wrote the first post for this blog. It was called H1N1 Flu. Like many of  my posts, it is a combination of useful information, social commentary, and humour. Since then I have added my photographs to my blog posts, and that has been the single biggest change in my life. Looking at life through the lens of a camera, rather than just through words, has been very exciting!

Thanks to all of you who visit these pages. I don’t know how enthusiastic I would be about blogging if no one ever viewed them!

Post 248

11 thoughts on “Comments, Halloween and a Blog Birthday

  1. Hi,
    Seems you may still have a bit more sampling to do on the mini chocolate bars. 😀
    Congrats on your 2nd blog anniversary, it is always nice to know that people take the time to read the blogs.

    Like

    • Hi Mark – Thanks for the compliments! If you had showed up at our door dressed in a costume, we would have been glad to give you a couple or ten chocolate bars!

      Like

  2. OK, so I clicked the like button, but still felt the need to comment, if only to see if you’d still respond. Since there is no Happy Birthday button to hit on your blog, I’ll simply have to wish it one here!

    Happy Birthday to you, “A Lighter Shade of Grey”

    Like

    • Hi Phil – Yes, I’m going to continue to respond to all comments until the day comes when there are so many comments that … well, I’ll cross that bridge if it ever comes.
      I think you have hit upon a wonderful suggestion for the Happiness Engineers – a button that could be adjusted to say whatever you wanted it to say.

      Like

  3. Congratulations on two years of blogging!

    How did you get through the rather dark months as far as photos were concerned? Did you take as many as during the other months or did you resort to the archives when you were blogging? I’m wondering, because I don’t think I’ll take a lot of outdoor pics until March. Maybe I better find the missing tripod part (a little thing that got lost during my last move)…

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

