Scanning my Mind and Computer for Memories

Do I plug this into my left ear or my right ear?

Everyone has a photographic memory. Some don’t have film.
Unknown –

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if you could plug one end of a USB cord into your ear, the other into your computer, and download every memory that resides in your brain?  A nifty little software program, like an Access database but far easier to use, would sort the memories by year, topic and any other category you wanted. Then a Scrapbook program would create wonderful photo journals of your life.

I mention this because I believe the memory bank in my brain needs to be defragged. Bits of information keep getting mislaid. I found the date of my next Dentist appointment filed with the trip to Galveston in 1979. And The Car Guys office phone number is mixed in with the cost of my car in 1984. Retrieving information can be a challenge some days. It would be nice to have the contents of my brain on my computer – it has a much better search function than my head does.

I’m not just sitting idly by, though, waiting for the computer industry to fulfill my grand dream. I have piles and piles of other things that I can scan onto my computer. I won’t have to lug out photo albums, slide carousels and file folders full of wedding invitations and birth announcements. I’ll just power up my laptop, click on a year, and scroll down a page of memories.

The 35 mm slides and negs will be fairly easy to scan, as will old prints, cards, and letters. The 110 negs are going to be the challenge. Building my own 110 film holder isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I’m on Prototype 5, and it involves heavy card stock and my sewing machine…

Here are two of the photos I’ve revived in Photoshop Elements. The pictures certainly help me to retrieve the memories in my mind!

A small daughter was seeing life through rose colored sun glasses that day.

______________________

A successful launch sequence, lift off and landing!

Above all, I craved to seize the whole essence, in the confines of one single photograph, of some situation that was in the process of unrolling itself before my eyes.
– Henri Cartier-Bresson –

Post 256

27 comments

  1. Hi,
    Defragging the brain, now that is something I could do with. 🙂
    It’s always great going through and looking at old photos, the last time I did this a lot of my reaction was ” oh yes I remember that day.” and the memories come flooding back. I think it’s great that we can get old photos onto the computer, this in turn will always preserve them.

    Like

  2. I’m sure if such a thing were invented, the download would freeze, the computer would crash and all memories would be “unrecoverable.” Best to leave memories, blurry and jumbled as they are, where they are safe from cyber-viruses and the ghosties that occupy hard-drives!

    Finding those pictures must have put a smile on your face. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Amy – yes, winter is a good time to tackle this project. I scan a few rolls of negatives each day, and at the rate I am going I should be done in… well, I might never be done…

      Like

  3. I love this! Wouldn’t it be great to do a brain dump of all events, thoughts, experiences, feelings, etc into a computer. Think of all the clutter we could clean out of our minds – and make room for many more good things to save. If we need to retrieve something that isn’t already stored in our mind, just get it off the computer! Thanks for letting me dream for a bit. Great post!

    Like

  4. I have a ton of old photos –in albums but back in our 2nd home in a different city. Some shots. Some to scan, maybe blog. I don’t know when that will be.

    Meanwhile I’ve accumulated several thousand digital photos over the past few years. My partner has more. Thank goodness for blogging! 😀

    I do feel the need to capture in blog or somewhere some great things and experiences I have had to share with people who are interested or those who know me well and care about me.

    Life is short.

    Like

  5. Yes, a brain-USB would be most useful. And constant defragging… (that always sounds ‘rude’!)

    If your scanner is anything like mine, with a sort of long rectangle in the lid under which you position the holder for negatives… then as long as the plate is clean and dry you could try doing what I do with my negs that are the wrong size for the holder, and just put them straight onto the plate. Apart from lifting them a few millimetres clear of the plate, I can’t actually see the point of the holder! I’ve done loads of negs this way.

    Like

    • Hi Marcie – The photographs are wonderful reminders! It took me a while to get set up so that I could start a scan and then go off and do something else for a while. It isn’t a fast process, but so far I have cleaned the house while bouncing back and forth doing the scanning.

      Like

  6. I am happy to have stumbled across your blog; love your post. I was telling myself I need to put more old pictures on my computer… I was searching for the perfect photos for the blog post I was writing about holiday traditions…wishing I had access to more nostalgic pictures.

    Jess

    Like

  7. Oh how I wish…. there are oh so many things stuck inside this itty bitty computer that hides in my skull..we call the brain. And just how do we find the way to put words to the emotions attached?

    Your photos of your kids remind me of my own childhood and my daughters’ as well. The memories of my kids often get scrammbled up with my childhood memories. A scrapbook of my brain would be a wonderous thing! Just imagine the slogan…your brain at rest…your brain downloading memories via computer…

    Ta Ta for now, Cathy the Bagg Lady.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

