Winter White Means Snow and Ice

All of us have moments in our lives that test our courage. Taking children into a house with a white carpet is one of them.
– Erma Bombeck –

A carpet of white snow is slowly blanketing our part of the world. No one minds if children trod upon it, build snowmen with it, or slide down it. Children don’t seem to think winter is nearly as long as their parents do!

Across the street from the Red House, the Hay Bales got their first dusting of white a few weeks ago. The bales are looking more and more like frosted shredded wheat!

Our recent heavy frost briefly left a coat of white ice crystals on every surface. This tree stump looks like it has sprouted white feathers!

Cascade Mountain sports the first snow of the winter. It won’t be long before there is enough snow in the mountains for the ski season to start!

Post 259

40 thoughts on “Winter White Means Snow and Ice

    • Thanks so much prairiewisdom. I’ll honour this responsibility a bit later, but in the meantime I’ve added your name to my Awards Page which can be found on the Awards Tab near the top of this page!

      Like

  1. Ohhhh Margie. I can only imagine having a cup of cocoa and watching the snow blanket those bales. Do the wildlife that tromp through your back yard chew on these bales. I’ll trade your snow for our rain. Thanks for the wonder

    Like

    • Hi Barb – I think the mice will probably make homes in the hay bales! I’m not sure if the deer would eat them though. They might not be nutritious enough for a wild animal, though they certainly are used for domestic animal feed.
      I suppose I don’t appreciate the snow the way I should. Some days I would trade the snow for rain!

      Like

    • Hi Amanda – The winter wildlife will primarily be the deer and the coyotes, though we may spot a fox now and then. The gophers and skunks will hibernate, but we’ll sometimes see a weasel. Most of the birds will have headed south, but crows, magpies, owls, and chickadees will stay the winter. We may not always see the animals, but their tracks certainly tell us they have passed by!

      Like

  2. Great photos. Wow! Snow already. Looks like it’s time to bundle up and snuggle down with a good book and cup of hot cocoa (or your favorite winter warming beverage.) 😉

    Like

  3. I could stay here all day and look at your photos! They’re stunning. and I love the quote about winter not seeming nearly as long to children as it does to adults. I love winter.

    Like

  4. What lovely pictures, Margie! You live in such a beautiful part of the world. It’s been unseasonable warm here. Tomorrow it’s only supposed to be in the 50’s and I’m looking forward to it.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

