The Path from Your Blogging House to Mine

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson –

Now and then I catch sight of the animals that visit our woods. In the summer time, they come and go without leaving much hint of who they are, nor how long they stayed. In the Winter time, with snow on the ground, the story is different.

animal woods winterThe deer have well defined paths that create a link from the woods/hay field in the north to the farmer’s grain field in the south.

This reminds me of some of the writers on my Blogroll – the people who have linked to my blog, and I, in turn, have linked to theirs – a bloggers reciprocity treaty!

There are other paths in the snow, the ones that are left by the creatures coming and going from less fixed destinations. This makes me think of the people who frequently leave comments.

Another group of special bloggers are the ones who have nominated me for the numerous Awards that bloggers give to one another.

Last, but certainly not least, are the Silent Majority. They leave no mark, but their presence can still be felt. In blogging terms, these are the folks that visit regularly, nod or shake their head, and move on. Though I can’t read their thoughts, I value the fact that they are readers!

Thanks to all of you and Merry Christmas!

Post 265

30 comments

  1. Say, when’s someone gonna nominate you for Most Gracious Blogger?? I’d do it myself, except you’d hafta jump thru a lotta hoops to get it, and I’d rather you spent the time doing more of these lovely posts… : )

    Merry Christmas to one of my favorite bloggers, and I’ll look forward to “making tracks” for your blog all thru 2012! : )

    Like

    • Thanks for the compliment Mark! Gracious – I’ll have to run that word by my family and friends to see if any of them have ever used that adjective, and my name, in the same sentence…
      You are right – some of these awards have you jumping through a lot of hoops – projects for another day.
      Merry Christmas!

      Like

  2. What a gracious way to give a retrospect, Magie! Thank you for sharing so many beautiful quotes (they always go so perfectly with your themes), spectacular photos, and wonderful insights. They have broadened my perspective. I was happy to see my blog got on your lists twice! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the pretty snow scenes. We also have deer wandering around (and lying around) our property. But so far, no snow here in Central Oregon. Mild winter so far. Happy Holidays, Bill

    Like

  4. What a great analogy! We do leave our tracks as we visit and comment on our favorite blogs. As usual, your words and pictures create a wonderful message that I can read and ponder after I leave your site.

    Like

  5. What an awesome tribute to blogging and the special folks who blog along beside us. I love the trails in the snow, they truly are a great analogy of the seen and unseen tracks of visitors and neighbors in the blogging world. Happy Holidays!

    Like

  6. I couldn’t wait to get over here and see your pictures. I knew it would be something of the season. And….we’re gifted with a bunch of great sites to visit. Thanks. I always like following tracks in the snow. It makes me feel less lost in the woods.

    Like

  7. Hi Margie! I really do like your site and this post is very good. I love Ralph Waldo
    Emerson and this quote is one I rarely remember. Thank you for reminding me of it.

    Ta Ta for now, The Bagg Lady Cathy

    Like

  8. This is a lovely post, and a great way to say thank you to fellow bloggers. I’m one of those visitors who often stops by quietly. Sometimes I’m not sure what to say in comments. I’m shy that way. 🙂

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

