I Regret I Didn’t Take More Photos

Don’t regret growing old. It’s a privilege denied to many.
– 60 minutes –

I had difficulty finding photos of the emotion Regret. Times that I’ve felt sorry or distressed – no photos.  Times of mourning – no photos. Even regret as the polite refusal to an invitation – still no photos.

Disappointment – now that is a form of regret that I could find dozens of photos of, and it all relates to the fact that digital photography for the masses is a relatively recent development.

England brick wall gateIn 1999 and 2000, when The Car Guy and I were spending all our spare time touring southern England, we were taking photos with film cameras. Now, I realize that some of the most wonderful photographs in the world come from film, but not my most wonderful photos!  The ancient cemetery above – I took one picture and I was disappointed in it.hedges lawnThe Manor in Avebury – again, just a single photo.

I was stingy with film, but with digital, I’m absolutely extravagant!

Post 286

34 comments

  1. I think we don’t generally take photos of sad or regretful situations. We like to capture those images that make us happy, and we create an artificial archive. Everyone is smiling (and usually clean and dressed up) in our family photo albums, and we all know that is not always the case!

    Like

  2. Hi,
    Actually I like the photos, and that Manor is gorgeous. 🙂
    I know when on holidays I always restricted the amount of photos, because I thought for sure I would run out of film, and it would happen where I wouldn’t be able to buy any.
    Now of course with digital, we can take as many photos as we like, but it does take some time when the holiday is over to sort through the 100’s of photos. 😀

    Like

  3. That gateway looks great. Maybe not what you envisioned but for a blogger it makes for pleasant viewing, the red brick frame to contrast the fresh green grass and the solitary tree.
     
    Rather than continue along the same lines for the manor – just a big thanks for these beautiful clicks. I do not regret visiting your blog two see them 🙂
     
    but yay for the digital era! How true is that! 😀

    Like

    • Hi pix & kardz – In all honesty, none of my photos are the same as what I remember the scene to be!
      What I like best about digital photos is that I can adjust them so that they come closer to the picture in my mind.
      These two photos are scans of negatives. I changed the light levels a bit, and straightened and cropped the Manor photo. When I was done, I liked them better than the original prints.

      Like

  4. I have spent a fortune over my lifetime on the thousands of photos I’ve taken, always taking too many just to have that one or two special one that came out perfect. Now that we’ve moved into the digital age, I’m still taking a ton of them and love being able to edit and share them so easily. I might try posting some, too. Though my camera is a $150 Canon, I’ve managed to capture some beautiful images. When in Avebury four years ago, I totally missed the manor but managed to get way too many shots of the circle and the sheep…don’t know what I was thinking. 🙂

    Like

  5. Your photos are fabulous regardless of which camera you used. You have a gift for capturing the beauty and soul of a place or subject. 🙂

    I’m having trouble with the regret theme too. 😦

    Like

  6. Margie, these are fabulous shots! I understand your sense of regret, it reminds me of the meals I have cooked, thinking I should have put in more of this, less of that etc etc but no-one else has noticed! It’s all so objective/subjective.

    Like

  7. Lovely photos. I took a ton of pics in Europe but we got away from pictures. I have them but when I want to share castles, manors and wildlife I have to scan them in and do a pdf to get it to the public.
    You did a fine job here. Love the look through the entryway.

    Like

  8. That first photo conjures some interesting feelings. I thought about “entering thru the narrow gate.” Cemeteries always bring thoughts of mortality, which in turn bring thoughts of regret for words not said, actions not taken. So I think your first photo touches on the theme of regret. The fact that the graves can only just be glimpsed, that they’re waiting ’round the corner, so to speak, adds a touch of poignancy.

    So there: you succeeded by accident and non-digitally to boot!! : P

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

