Valentine’s Day Tulips – 2012

I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day.  When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon.
– Author Unknown –

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you  who live in the countries that celebrate Valentine’s Day – United States, Canada, Mexico, the United Kingdom, France, Australia, Denmark, Italy and Japan! If it was spring time here, I’d shower you with tulips (though red roses are considered the flower of love because the color red stands for strong romantic feelings)!  But it is still snowing, and I don’t grow red roses anyhow, so I’ll just send you this pair of Parrot Tulips from last year.

red whiteAlso left over from last year is my Valentine’s Day Story 2011, which was read by only 18 people. I thought it had some ingenious suggestions for gift giving, but you know that my ideas are sometimes so outside the box that I don’t even know what is in the box.

Love is much nicer to be in than an automobile accident, a tight girdle, a higher tax bracket or a holding pattern over Philadelphia.
– Judith Viorst, Redbook, 1975 –

Post 287

20 comments

  1. Your tulips are beautiful Margie, and make me feel happy. I was not yet blogging in Feb. 2011 so missed that post, but you now have #19. I commented on it there too…. because it makes perfect sense. Thanks for re-sharing.

    Like

    • Hi Shelley – some people have the gift of seeing things just a bit differently. I certainly didn’t think of a cupid in quite those terms until I saw that cupid quotation!

      Like

  2. Your tulip photo is lovely, and perfect for the day.
    I hope they are as lovely for you this year.
    I enjoyed your post from 2011. I agree with you. Your quotes were right-on.
    Happy Valentines Day 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Amanda – I can’t imagine living in a place where tulips don’t grow. Of course, you can probably grow wisteria, which would more than make up for the loss of the tulips!

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

