Unsubscribe, Unfollow, Unclutter – It’s UnFriday!

Drat. I missed Clean Your Computer Day – it was February 13. Please forgive me for being four days late in telling you all about the latest cleaning tool in my arsenal. It is called Unning – from the verb un. I know you think that un has to be a prefix, but I think it has the potential to be a rather good verb. Under what circumstances, you ask?

Let me give you a few examples from the unning I did this week, while I was connected to three large Clouds:

– I had some Facebook acquaintances who, it turns out, aren’t really people I would choose to have as real life friends, so I decided I would unfriend them. But not yet – for now I’ve hid them – unfriending seems a bit harsh.
– I had about 200 Google RSS feeds that I never had time to read, so I unsubscribed to them.
– I  had about 250 WordPress Blog feeds that I also never had time to read, so I unfollowed them.

Collectively, all this unfriending, unsubscribing and unfollowing can simply be called unning. Of course, I expect I will be unned in return, but I don’t mind. We all have to do what we have to do.

Unning can be done to things too. I unned my clothes closet the other day and now I have a bag of good, unfashionable, used clothes to take to Goodwill. I unned the book shelf and collected a box of books for the book exchange. I unned the chocolate box and  picked out all the bars that were just past their best before date and I ate them.

Today is Friday, which is a fine day to do some unning, so I propose we call it UnFriday! I’m looking forward to hearing all your stories of how you used the day to unclutter your life!

Post 289

49 thoughts on “Unsubscribe, Unfollow, Unclutter – It’s UnFriday!

  1. Great word, unning! I moved house last year and – partly as I was going to have less space, partly b/c I was sick and tired of things that kept me stuck! – I unned a bunch of stuff: old documents; books to the second hand store; clothes to Goodwill; hundreds – if not thousands of photos; artifacts and mementos. It was somewhat traumatic and hugely relieving! Some of the unned things I have later regretted unning but the price was still worth it.
    I made a pledge to myself that from then on I would only acquire new things I really need – not always successful with that….

    Like

    • Welcome to my blog, Runar – You have mentioned many good examples of unning. Hopefully you are a recycling unner. Nothing worse than unning stuff into a landfill someplace!

      Like

      • Thanks Margie. Most of it went to recycling. As for photos, I admit these went into regular garbage – I don’t think they qualify for recycling but I could be wrong.

        Like

        • Great job, Runar! In my part of the world, paper recycling is encouraged, but I realize we are very lucky to live in a place that has an extensive recycling program. Many places don’t.

          Like

  2. I’m been an avid fan of unning for years, I’m just glad you invented a name it can now go by. My partner on the other hand is the most un-unner I know, accumlating whilst I unn.

    Like

    • Hi Joe – It is difficult, isn’t it, to be in a situation where unning and un-unning cancel one another? I can sympathize, for I too live with an un-unner. The upside is, though, that when my spouse actually uns something, it is big, like a car. Or one year he tore down the drooping sun porch that stretched across the back of our house. Big time unning!

      Like

  3. Well I was fascinated by this post….fantastic and then I came to the part which I’m afraid absolutely baffled me….a chocolate box that needs unning? My chocolate box is permanently empty!! As for chocolate bars past their best before date….do they exist? Wow amazing!!!!! Let me give you my address and I’ll recycle your chocolate for you;)

    Like

    • Hi takingsnaps – Chocolate has a best before date. After that, it is still safe to eat for some period of time, but may not taste as good.
      It is very kind of you to offer to recycle my chocolate for me, but I will ‘take one for the team’ and do the job myself!

      Like

  4. Thanks, this story couldn’t come at a better time. I’m in the process of getting angry enough at myself to “un” my bookshelf, desk, closet and garage. As the saying goes, “I’m fixin to get ready to begin to take action.” Bill

    Like

  5. I can totally relate. I have way too much unread or unanswered email. When I read UnFriday as a title I was confused; I thought to myself that today was indeed Friday. But alas, you post was as usual timely and an interesting read.

    Ta Ta for now, Cathy the Bagg Lady

    Like

    • Hi Todd – I blocked Farmville, but there doesn’t seem to be filters for some of the other topics that you mentioned – which include all the times people ‘unburden’ themselves with things no one really wants to know.

      Like

      • I like it when people post, “Please pray for Jennifer today!!!” That prompts people to say they’re praying and to ask what’s wrong with Jennifer. Then, a day or two later, the first person will say that, thanks to everyone’s prayers, Jennifer passed her history test. This is when I unfriend.

        Like

  6. Oh, Margie…you’re a brave, brave woman. I’ve wanted to do some unning, but I fear I’d hurt feelings. Does WordPress send out a notice…”You’ve been unned?”

    Great word. I’ve always used Lent as my “unning season” for deep housecleaining, you’ve inspired me to take it to a whole new level.

    Like

    • Hi Barb – I don’t know if WordPress sends out a notice or not. Why don’t you unfollow me, and then I’ll tell you if I get a notice.
      I truly am sorry if I hurt anyone’s feelings by unfollowing or unsubscribing to their blog. But I would hope we all have a goal of reading what we think is the very best of what interests us. If that means pruning our feeds because we have found other material, so be it.
      Life is short, time is precious. Weed out that which isn’t the best of the best!

      Like

    • Hi Ruth – We are all in the same boat now and then, I expect. It takes a bit of courage to unfriend, unfollow, and unsubscribe. Hopefully all of my readers take the task on before they become as swamped as I was!

      Like

  7. I am joining your un-Friday movement but truth be told every day is an un-day for me. I’m receiving phony baloney comments from people who are paid to spam blogs, who are using Facebook log-ins to spam my blogs. I mark them as spam and Akismet is learning which ones I have “unned”.

    While I’m on the subject of Facebook every day we hear that we must have Facebook accounts to be effective bloggers. Well, did you know the average Facebook page reaches just 17 percent of its fans? Yes, that means the average page’s posts are not being seen by 83 percent of their fans. I published about this in Facebook Fan Page Reach Decreasing.

    What’s more? Increasing numbers of studies of social networks point to much smaller numbers of real and active users — sharply reducing the value of the platforms and social media marketing. Studies reveal most social media accounts are fake or empty. I just published a Social Networks Update that has links to some very interesting data.

    For Twitter I use UnTweeps to list users who have not updated their status in X number of days and I un-follow them with a single click. It’s a free quick and easy to easy un-follow app.

    I am unlike those who fret and fume over not being notified of every this and that at WordPress.com. I have un-subscribed from all my former email blog post and blog comment subscriptions and from notifications. I prefer to read new posts in a feedreader and my email account was overflowing. Once I unsubscribed form everything I found I had made the time I needed to work on my partner’s website. Whew!

    A year from now those who join the un-Friday movement will be celebrating their un-Friday un-Birthday! Woo hoo! Un-on.

    Like

    • Thanks timethief for all the good advice. You are a wealth of information, which is why I follow your blog – in an RSS feed reader. The WordPress Feed Reader is too limited in features for my purposes.

      Like

  8. Wonder how long it will take before you hear your word coming back at you?

    In the late 1960s, a friend and I were really annoyed at something or other and we told each other that we were ‘disappointed, disgusted, disturbed, distressed…’ and suddenly realised that everything negative in life starts with ‘dis’. So, from then on we talked about being ‘dissed’. 40 years later I am standing in my kitchen, listening to the radio, and hear somebody or other complain about being dissed. I couldn’t believe it. Rita and I had invented a word (well, i did really, Rita was just there). Success.

    Sadly, totally UNcredited.

    Like

    • Hi Eileen – Isn’t it odd that it took so long for your word to catch on!?
      Now, the advantage of choosing the term UnFriday is that it is already being used, although most others use unFriday to refer to all those days that aren’t Friday. Very different meaning than my unFriday.

      Like

  9. We’ve been unning many many ‘things” around our house for months now and are un-derstandably excited to break free. Unning – what a great word. What a great movement.

    Like

  10. Pingback: The Undiscovered Club – Fueled by Chocolate

  11. I’ve always been one for unning. Unless one uns, one runs the risk of stunning amounts of ununning. I’m not trying to be cunning when I say that shunning unning is gunning for trouble. Got to go now. I’m running late for unning some undone uns.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

