Looking Down a Canyon – Grand, Bryce, deChelly

I ran down the hallway to the office and discovered that the computer was down. That got me down so bad that I had to down a drink or two (of milk), then I curled up on the couch with my quilt made of down.

Down – what a versatile little word. It can be a preposition, adverb, adjective, verb or a noun. Did I achieve that in the sentence about the computer? Actually, I’m not sure.

For a Photo Challenge this week I’ve selected some special places with ‘Down’ view points. The American Southwest is home to many wonderful canyons, some that can be viewed from all along the rim.

ArizonaThe most famous is probably The Grand Canyon in Arizona. On a scale of 1 to 10 for depth, width and wow value, this canyon is a 12!

snow winter red cliffs UtahAnother beautiful canyon is Bryce in Utah. Most people don’t visit the canyons in the winter, but I think they are most dramatic in a coat of snow.

ArizonaOur most recent Canyon experience was Canyon de Chelly in Arizona. It happened to be raining that day, and that added a magical touch to the landscape.

ArizonaCanyon de Chelly is dramatic, but not so deep that we couldn’t watch tiny people and small vehicles navigating up and down the valley!

Post 290

52 thoughts on “Looking Down a Canyon – Grand, Bryce, deChelly

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

