Shadow Play – Looking at Photography Differently

If I die, who’s going to take care of my shadow? Or will it return to the night, from whence it came? While I sleep at night I keep my shadow folded neatly in my underwear drawer.
― Jarod Kintz

E.C. at Enjoying Creating has thrown down the gauntlet. She has challenged her faithful followers to ‘Cast your shadow over something and take a photo’. She chose her cat, and because of that she calls her challenge “ShadowCatting”.

I thought this sounded like fun, although two obstacles stood in my path. The first was – no sun. Day after day of clouds and light snow. The second problem – no cat. At least, not one that would lie in the sun on command and wait patiently for me to take a picture. Mooch, our ex-cat that lives next door, wanders over here at least once a day, but he is not inclined to oblige me in any way. (You can read about Mooch in my post, The Cat Compendium.)

The solution, once the sun came out, was to choose an obliging animal. I chose a Moose. Not just any moose, but one I bought in a craft store this past winter.

You know, taking a picture of anything while deliberately casting a shadow on it is intuitively awkward. On a bright sunny day, surrounded by glaring white snow, the object in the shadow almost disappears. So, I took three bracketed photos and attempted to… well, that didn’t work all that well either, so I ended up adjusting my position so that not all of the moose was in the dark. It would be a shame if you couldn’t see his beady little eyes.

So, there you have it. ShadowMoosing. I wonder if it will catch on in the  Shadow Play circles?

There is 3 key things for good photography: the camera, lighting and… photoshop.
– Tyra Banks –

___________________

This Moose was made in Canada by the Rocky Mountain Teddy Bear Co. If you would like to contact them, their email address is donandmillie@shaw.ca

Post 305

23 comments

  1. I love the quote in the beginning and your own twist on the challenge. Great photo. Something about shadows has always allured me. I don’t find them evil or foreboding; I find them enticing–full of possibilities. I know. I’m strange…

    Like

  2. I love this idea because so many of my photos of other people inadvertently have my body parts in them: thumbs, hair, part of my hand.

    ( I also love the neighbor’s cat, aptly named, Mooch.). I bring my muse to your pages to get it kick started. Thanks

    Like

    • Hi Amanda – It also reminds me of when I was a child and we would shine a light on the wall at night, and try to create interesting shadows with our hands. Do you suppose kids still do things like that? Oh wait, I found out there is an iTunes App for hand shadow puppets.

      Like

  3. To be honest, I hadn’t really thought of shadows much at all…. if ever! That quote on the top, along with your lovely post and rather handsome Moose has got me thinking! 🙂 Thanks for a really nice, interesting and different post!

    Like

      • oh yes!!!!! good point…. although I oddly see them differently in that respect rather than the physicality of a shadow (if such a thing exists?!) Its this thought of shadows, in this way, that I had never really considered.

        Like

        • Yes, I can see what you mean. Shadows have so many nuances.
          There is a physical aspect to a shadow, yet no substance to it. A shadow can feel friendly in the light of day, and make us anxious in the night.
          I think I will have to spend more time exploring shadows with my camera!

          Like

  4. Hey Margie
    Thanks so very much for joining in my trend. You gave me a big smile. 🙂
    I love your moose, he’s a handsome critter and looks like he would be a all soft and cuddly to hug.
    You did a great job on your shadow photo considering the dynamics that you had to work with.
    I really appreciate you doing this. You made my day! 🙂
    I may create a blog for shadow photos. I think that would be fun. 😆

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

