Seeing Through Windows and Doors

You can’t go on “seeing through” things forever. The whole point of seeing through something is to see something through it. To “see through” all things is the same as not to see.
– C.S. Lewis, The Abolition of Man

It wasn’t too hard to find a photo in my archives to demonstrate ‘Through’.  Windows are very good for this sort of thing.  This one is our patio and driveway in the summer through our front door window.

This is the same view through the window today. Snow, thanks to a low pressure system moving in from Idaho into Montana then north into our province. And everyone thinks all the bad weather originates in Canada!

No, I wanted a much more difficult challenge, and for that I would have to use a magic spell. I took two photos, waved my magic mouse over them and uttered “Photoshopis elementis transperantis layerosis!”

Ta Da! You can see right through the closed door of my dishwasher! Yes, I know the view isn’t crystal clear, but dishwashers are notorious for leaving a bit of a soapy film, aren’t they?

If you would like to see how other photographers have interpreted this challenge, click on this link: WordPress Photo Challenge: Through.

Related Read  Mrs. Mallard and the Great Balancing Act

Post 306

33 comments

    • I bought four of those glasses, but sad to say I broke one. They are mine, mine, mine and they are my water tumblers. Water looks delicious when it is blue.

      Like

  1. There is something about a photograph taken through a window. It’s point of view feels so personal. I love these photos for that reason…well the dishwasher shot doesn’t evoke quite the same emotional charge as the other two.. 😉

    Like

    • Yes, it does feel like x-ray vision. I tried it on my computer mouse and that was pretty cool too. I think it would be easy to do the engine of my car too.

      Like

  2. Hi,
    Great photos, such a different view from Summer then the view with the snow, it is like two different places. 🙂

    How very clever, to take the two photos and do this with the dishwasher, something totally different for the theme, well done.

    Like

    • I’m a bit behind in checking out the other ‘Through’ photos for this challenge, but it is always interesting how many ways people interpret a single word!

      Like

  3. The C.S. Lewis quote was fantastic. What an insightful man he was.

    But wait– there’s more! Very cool photos. Is your door’s middle row of panes tinted? There seems to be a darkening there that creates a bit of otherworldliness on the other side of the glass…

    That’s one packed washer. I see you save up all your dishes during the week and do ’em all at once– water conservation, right? Just kidding… : )

    Like

    • No Mark, the panes aren’t tinted – each pane is beveled and that causes a bit of distortion around the edges of each.
      Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks – the dishwasher gets filled and run once a day!

      Like

  4. That dishwasher shot is some kind of magic. Love the arbor out your window – and the difference between a summer shot and a winter shot. I’ve been wanting to do that on our property somewhere, ie, take a shot standing in the same spot in all 4 seasons. Then frame them and listen to Vivaldi. Seasons are magical in themselves.

    Like

    • I’ve seen a four season photo collage that was taken at the base of a stand of poplar trees – looking up into the canopy. Green leaves of summer, gold leaves in the fall, leafless in the winter, new buds in the spring. I keep thinking I should do that on our property too!

      Like

  5. Great seasonal shots. Love the leafiness of the first (is it Wisteria?) and the hint that you sit outside, with the pale blue chair visible. And what a contrast with winter. I love the effect of the glass panels too. It all adds to an interesting couple of shots.
    Finally, the dishwasher. What an ingenious photograph. Loved the seriousness and humour of this post.

    Like

    • Welcome to my blog, Kate. I wish it was wisteria. No, it is plain old Virginia Creeper which is hardy here in Zone 3. It can be very invasive, so I have it growing in planters on the patio. It will never be able to escape into the wild!

      Like

  6. Your view through your front window door is amazing. 🙂
    Your dishwasher is interesting, I don’t think I ever heard of a see through door. That’s so cool! 🙂

    Like

    • It really would be fun to have a dishwasher with a see through door. I’m sure it would provide endless hours of entertainment for cats and small children. No, my dishwasher has a normal door, but it wasn’t hard to alter it in Photoshop Elements!

      Like

      • lol Sorry about that. I feel so silly, how in the world did I miss that? I’ll have to pay more attention. You are a clever lady, great job on the photoshop. 😉

        Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

