Winter of 2011-2012: Last Snow Day?

Oh the weather outside is frightful,
But the fire is so delightful,
And since we’ve no place to go,
Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
– Lyricist Sammy Cahn, composer Jule Styne – 1945

Calendar – May 4, 2012 – The Car Guy mowed the lawn for the first time this year.
Calendar – May 5, 2012 – 4 inches of snow.

Also on May 5, the Hibiscus bloomed. It is an indoor plant with brilliant red flowers.

Green grass, Red flower, White snow – felt very Christmasy!

Related Read  Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

Post 326

31 comments

    • We’ve had a fairly mild winter this year too. Last winter was brutal, so we are certainly not going to complain about a few inches of snow in May this year!
      Header photos are a great way to change up a blog, aren’t they!

      Like

    • Typical May, yes, though we often get a dump of a foot or so of snow after the leaves come out on the trees. The leaves are just coming out now, so I won’t be surprised if the big spring snow is yet to come!

      Like

    • Four inches – just a dusting in this part of the world!
      Yes, the hibiscus flower is beautiful and quite amazing on a plant that is just a scruffy old thing that I rescued from the kids apartment when they were in University. The plant was scruffy then, and it is scruffy now, and it only ever puts out one or two blooms at a time.

      Like

        • Before I went overseas, I had over 50 house plants. I left them all with my daughter (along with the house) to look after. When I got home, there were only 4 house plants left. One of them was the hibiscus, so I think it is less my nurturing abilities, and more the tenacity of the plant.

          Like

  1. Snow? Wow…don’t send it my way, that’s all I ask! The good thing about snow this time of the years that is disappears as quickly as it arrived…usually. 🙂 love the pics.

    Like

  2. I typed a comment last week, but wasn’t signed into my tablet,so I lost the comment. I’m glad the hibiscus/snow photo is still here. I needed to come back and admire it some more. Such beauty of extremes.

    Like

    • Come back any time.
      That was exactly what I thought when I posted the photos – the extreme difference between the outside weather and the inside flower. The Hibiscus flower was even ‘looking’ outside, as much to say “What the hell is happening out there! I thought it was finally spring!”

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

