The Summer Garage Sale

Nothing says summer like a Garage Sale. Our Cabin Community held a Parade of Garage Sales recently. It didn’t take long for me to identify the items that I would attempt to unload. I just chose all the things I had no real attachment to and no need for. The cabin is full of such items because when we purchased it, it came with all the stuff the previous owner had no use for.

I carted arm fulls of things to the edge of the road and rather than trying to price everything, I made a single sign. It said “Free”. I pinned it to the makeshift brick and board shelf the items were sitting on, and sat back to see what would happen. My first customer arrived in a pick-up truck. Within minutes she had loaded up the big old TV set that survived the flood, and 4 kitchen chairs that have been made redundant. And so it went all morning. No one could believe that everything was free, and though they probably didn’t need any of the things they took, they just couldn’t resist getting something for nothing. By the end of the day, everything had been taken except….

flower border wooden handlethis fondue pot. Granted, it doesn’t have a lid, and the heat source is missing, but it has a nice wooden handle, and a lovely bouquet of flowers dancing around its belly. Truly, how could those people take home an old rake or an ice bucket disguised like a wooden apple, but leave behind the fondue pot?

I took the pot back into the cabin, washed the dust off, and put it back onto the shelf. I wonder, does everyone have a fondue pot that they never use and that is why I couldn’t give this one away? Or does no one fondue anymore?

Post 332

15 comments

  1. lol it’s amazing how no one took that lovely fondue pot. People are such curious creatures.
    You have a good heart to give that stuff away. Maybe you can make the fondue pot a planter. That would be pretty. 🙂

    Like

  2. My reaction to the lonely pot was that Margie will take it home and plant a flower in it! I can’t believe you didn’t! I just gave away the last of the stuff we inherited when we bought our cabin. The Inner Wheel of the Rotary Club is having a “boot” sale on the weekend to raise money for their charities. They rent spaces to people to bring their cars and trucks and sell stuff from their “boots” or trunks. It is always very successful. I have managed to find a few pieces that we needed for our cabin at previous sales. The first time we fondued was with you and “Car Guy” way back when!

    Like

    • The Boot Sale is a great idea – makes for much easier set up and take down if you don’t have to lug the stuff a long way!
      Yes, our Fondue Days were way back when – we were just so trendy in those days!

      Like

  3. This such an interesting story Margie! A study in psychology. I can just imagine the “pickers” picking up things they didn’t need until your table was empty save for the fondue pot. I think it would make a lovely flower pot now and deserves your love and care. Your “free” experiment makes a wonderful blog post. Clever girl!

    Like

    • I tried to ‘sell’ the free idea to some of the other sellers that day, but they weren’t having anything to do with the idea. I suppose it all depends on what your goal is. Mine was to get rid of stuff, not make money. Can you imagine how exciting it would have been if everyone had given everything away? I’m sure by the end of the day, we all would have carted just as much stuff back into the house, but it would have come from someone else’s house!

      Like

  4. Fun post. If I had driven by, you would probably be without your lovely fondue pot. I am a big fan of fondue. I fell in love with it after my eighth grade French teacher planned an event where she brought in a loaf of French bread and a pot filled with a 3 cheese fondue. It was exotic and delicious, and ever since, I have loved all things fondue.

    Like

    • Cheese fondue is wonderful, isn’t it? We rarely do an oil fondue – but now and then we enjoy doing a cheese one as a side to our version of a raclette dinner. I bought an electric fondue pot, which makes it so much easier to control the temperature.

      Like

      • I have an electric one, too. To treat my mother inl law when she was at a nursing home, we used to take an assortment of fruits and cakes to dip in ameretto chocolate, and I don’t think we could have done it with an electric pot. It makes me hungry just thinking about it.

        Like

  5. Ahh…I remember my hubby and I holding ‘fondue’ nights back in the 70s. Good times. Mind you, I would have left your fondue pot right where it was, too, as I’m sure that if I search hard enough I’d find my old fondue pot somewhere in my home! But imagine–you got rid of everything else! I’m impressed!

    Like

    • We still try to fit in a fondue/raclette party over the Christmas holidays when the family is in town. Many hands make light work when it comes to chopping things and making sauces!

      Like

  6. Hi,
    What a fantastic idea, and at least you know that the items would go. 🙂
    It was a shame about the pot, I think it is very nice, I love the flowers around it, it is strange that no one took that piece.

    Like

  7. Arrgghh! One item left!! To come so close to liberation–!!

    It’s interesting: I see a lot of FREE signs these days. That’s why I keep a huge U-Haul trailer attached to my bicycle… : P

    Like

    • Once I’d rescued that fondue pot, given it a good wash, and put it away – well let’s just say I had grown quite fond of it and was glad it was still mine.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

