Photographs and the Right to Privacy

When you snap a picture of another person, two fundamental rights often come into play: the
right of the photographer to free expression and the right of the subject to privacy (the right to be left alone).
– Lien Verbauwhede, 2006 –

On my blogs, the right of privacy always outweighs my right as a photographer. This poses a dilemma (which I always thought was spelled dilemna) because sometimes the story I am telling is best illustrated with a photo of people.

19-card-sharks

I use two solutions – sometimes I crop the photo to remove faces in addition to using filters to alter the photo. This was an effective way to treat this photo, because the topic was hands, and the photo was called ‘Card Sharks’.

19-card-sharks2

The second solution is to simply experiment with filters until I find one that disguises the faces. This photo of the ‘Card Sharks’ was not as effective as the first photo, though it did a good job of ensuring privacy.

19-5th-birthday

This was a photo of my 5th birthday party. I loved the result of a cross-hatch effect.

 Post 333

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

