The Long Journey in the Creation of a Jug

A while ago I wrote a post called I Tried Being Subtle. It tells the story of how I came to make the Jug that is in this photo.

Today – same Jug, different photo and a brief discussion about the word Create.

Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while. That’s because they were able to connect experiences they’ve had and synthesize new things.
-Steve Jobs-

I made this jug in a workshop taught by the famed potter, Michael Casson. The style is entirely his, but the jug is my creation.

I took the photograph of the jug. The camera was a creation of Panasonic, but the resulting picture is my creation.

I ran the photo through the FotoSketcher software that was created by a man named David in Lyon, France. The aftermath of using the Emergence effect is my creation.

I posted this photo in my blog, which is here because of the creative minds behind WordPress. But the blog itself is my creative home.

There is a gap of 20 plus years between when I made the jug and when I created this post. I would have done it faster, but I had to wait for so many others to be creative first…

Post 342

18 thoughts on “The Long Journey in the Creation of a Jug

  1. You created a fascinating study of the concept of creation. Thanks for making me think about what I do every day (in a different way than you).

    By the way, I love the new title for your blog. Well, at least the title is new to me, Margie! 🙂

    Like

    • You are a very observant person, Lorna. I have been thinking about a new title for quite a while but only decided to test drive it a few days ago. I’m in the process of reordering my blog contents and in doing so I have been asking myself the big questions like ‘what am I trying to say’, ‘what is the meaning of life’ and ‘what will I make for dinner.’

      Like

  2. What a fun, funny, creative blogger you are Margie! Your final iteration of “the jug” is gorgeous and you are so clever giving credit to all the creative minds who got you to this point. I thoroughly enjoy your blog and this post, and thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  3. I like the photo too–sorry I’ve missed so many posts, Margie, for some reason your blog isn’t showing up in my reader so I didn’t even know you had new stuff! I love the new blog name too, by the way.

    Like

  4. Margie, you’re the most organized person I know. When my blog is misbehaving, I come over here and learn from the master. Everything looks fabulous. I’m just sorry, I didn’t get here in time to find out where you found the wall paper to your former blog presentation.

    Of course, the pitcher is pleasingly gorgeous, but my first thought was….look at how the light falls across the whole scene and sets the tone. You’ve got more creativity in your eyelashes than most of us do in our brains. Keep sharing and inspiring us, please.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

