Canada’s Birthday – 145 Years Old

Happy Birthday, Canada!

The Canada I know best has big mountains, and on a clear day I can see them from my back yard. (But not this big. I have to drive for about an hour to see them up close and personal.)

My part of Canada has clear, fresh running water in uncountable lakes, streams and rivers.  (Except right now, which  is flood season here in Alberta. The water is pretty muddy, and we’re hoping the cabin doesn’t get flooded.)

My Canada has  four distinct seasons.  This is my yard in the winter when everything is coated in a blanket of snow.

Until I came to Canada I never knew ‘snow’ was a four letter word.
-Alberto Manguel-

I could go on and on, but instead, go to these two posts to find out more about Canada and Canadians:

144 Years Old and Going Strong!  –  a glimpse into how our family celebrates Canada’s birthday.

If you don’t know any Canadians, but would like to,  be sure to read my 52 Friends Plan. A Canadian in your home for one week a year – it is just that easy!

We have the mounties, they have the FBI. Can you imagine the FBI doing the Musical Ride?
– Dave Broadfoot –

Post 344

27 comments

    • I’ve heard that many parts of the USA are suffering from the heat. Add in the stress of an election year, and I can see why some of you would rather be in Canada for a while.

      Like

    • It is a beautiful mountain and has been photographed more times than just about any mountain in our part of the Rockies. It greets people as they approach Banff, Alberta.

      Like

    • How very kind of you to say that, Mark. I think I appreciate Canada more than many people do because I’ve spent enough years living in other countries!

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

