How to Make Melted Crayon Art

Last fall each of my grown children purchased new crayons and artist’s canvas, and it wasn’t for the grand-children to take to school. No, they used a glue gun, a candle and a hair dryer to create a merger of the crayons and the canvas. Here is what they made:

The result was my Christmas Present last year.  I’m hoping they will do the same this year. I loved the results! One daughter, the one who lives to cook, presented me with this beautiful bundle of vegetables. I can only imagine how long it took to melt the crayons with a candle, then plant each melted bit onto the canvas!

Another daughter glued black, grey, white, green and yellow crayons onto the top of a canvas, then used a hair dryer to melt the pointed ends so they dripped. Note the new colours that formed near the bottom where one colour ran into another.

The third daughter – whose husband rides the same model of Harley that The Car Guy did (see A Perfect Storm) – chose a Harley Davidson theme and colours. She combined the melted dot technique to outline the Harley logo, then she used the drip method on the ends of the crayons.

The only consultation between the three girls was the size of the canvas they were going to use. It was so wonderful to see how different each piece turned out!

There are lots of websites that explain the process for these projects. Here are a few:

Wingledings

Pink and Green Mama

 Post 352

48 thoughts on “How to Make Melted Crayon Art

    • Right now all the girls are into knitting. They keep sending me photos of their finished projects. I have some wool, I have the needles and that is as far as I have got. They are not only creative, they finish things!

      Like

  1. Love the idea, especially second one by your daughter.
    It is actually merging.
    And more exciting thing is creating something new, in this case… new colors.
    Very impressive.

    Like

      • Totally agree!
        When we mixing water color or something, we can control everything. But mixing crayons by heat-gun does not give us much control. I think there is a beauty about it. We tend to control everything whenever we can, but there is a chance to get something extraordinary when we just let it happen.
        And I really admire that you led and made her experience it.

        Like

  2. I have never heard of this process, and it produces such lovely and interesting results. I will go to those websites and check them out. Maybe my youngest granddaughter would like to give it a try.

    Like

  3. This post and photos rekindled an old memory of using this technique in the distant past, but it’s hard for me to believe that my mother who was/is completely phobic about fire ever let us do it. My father was an art teacher so we were encouraged to do all sorts of crafts. Unfortunately, if I sent this project to my two sons, they would roll their eyes which is too bad. Your daughters’ efforts are lovely and a sign of their respect and love for you.

    Like

  4. That’s a very interesting way to use crayons! 🙂 I’ve often wondered about chopping up coloured pencils to make a mosaic. Maybe one day!

    Like

  5. Remarkable! I, too, was unfamiliar with this type of crayon art. Things have come a long ways since I used to draw on walls… : (

    Yes, your daughters clearly inherited your Art gene, along with the Car Guy’s Messy gene… : )

    Like

  6. I just love this idea for a gift…and for a project. Especially love the different interpretations on the theme. Lucky you to be the recipient of such creativity and art!

    Like

    • I’d have to say the kids are more talented than I am. I’m a craftsman, while they seem to be more inventive and artistic on top of being capable craftsmen.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

