Fall Hoarfrost – A Lens Full of Crystals

Our first ‘winter storm’ of the season was night before last. It didn’t drop that much snow, and the temperature didn’t get all that much below freezing. It wasn’t a big deal, unless you were one of the unfortunate ones who had to drive to work the next morning. People seem to forget how to drive on slippery roads, so the first commute of the winter is a nightmare.

I wouldn’t normally venture out in a car until well after the morning traffic had got to where they were going. Rush hour, darkness, and icy roads aren’t my thing. But The Car Guy had an appointment at a Doctor’s Office at 8:30 AM, and I’m still the designated driver, so at 7:30 in the morning we ventured onto the freeway for a trip that would normally take about 40 minutes. At 8:45 I breathed a sigh of relief that we had arrived at our destination, safe and sound and only 15 minutes late!

After the appointment, I faced another task I don’t enjoy – paying for the parking. (You probably remember my post called Give Me the Good Old Parking Meter, Please!)  At the entrance to the Parkade was a sentinel – an electronic ticket machine – daring me to figure out how to use it. Fortunately, The Car Guy speaks their language and all I had to do was remember on which floor I had parked.

Not all wintery days are so harrowing. Last week we had a Hoarfrost morning. I spent almost an hour taking pictures of a world filled with tiny crystals. It was magic.
Frost covered blades of grass.

A very close up view of a leaf.

Grass seed, with this year’s hay bales in the distance.

The Canadian Nature Photographer website has some excellent Hoarfrost pictures.

Post 364

27 comments

  1. Glad you made it to your destination okay. Those are beautiful pictures. I love photographing the first frosty mornings of the season but we haven’t quite got there here in southern Ontario. I love the fall. It’s my favourite time of year.

    Like

  2. The tiny crystals of the Hoarfrost are beautiful… though the drive after that first winter storm sounds a bit treacherous. Here in the south, we’re incapacitated by even a light snow. Northern transplants write letters to the newspapers ridiculing us. And scraping the windshield of the car is a task I still haven’t gotten used to… even 20-years after moving away from Florida.

    Like

    • I was a bit fearful of the drive, but when I got to the highway the traffic was just crawling along. The trip was tedious, but not particularly dangerous!
      It really doesn’t take much snow to make driving tricky, so I can just imagine what that is like in a place that doesn’t experience it very often.

      Like

  3. Strange how it always takes drivers a while to remember that we actually do have winter in Canada, isn’t it? Glad you made it to and from your appointment safe and sound. And great pictures!

    Like

    • People just seem to forget how to adjust for winter driving conditions. I’m glad I was driving the Jeep – it has traction control and anti-lock brakes and all the stuff to help you take corrective action quickly.

      Like

  4. These photos are beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I was wondering if you had winter visit yet? We’ve had unique sunny days until today, then it was like flipping a switch. The skies clouded over and rain and gloom fell. And like you, traffic snarled for hours. It’s the first rain we’ve had in 3 months, I guess everyone forgot how to drive in the mist.
    I especially like the photo with the hay bales in the background…it tells a story.

    Like

    • It has been quite dry here too. We could use a good rain before the ground starts to freeze, but that doesn’t look likely.
      I’m glad I got a few photos of the hay bales – yesterday they were all picked up and hauled away.

      Like

  5. These pictures make the coming of winter less daunting. Now I’m looking forward to a little bit of frost. But just a little bit — and not the driving.

    I love that the Car Guy speaks the parking machine language.

    Like

  6. I so agree with you about winter driving (I always try to avoid it). But, you conquered the slippery route and made it to your destination. 🙂 Thanks for the wonderful photographs too. They are absolutely lovely.

    Like

  7. Beautiful, Margie. I especially like the last one with the soft-focus hay bales in the distance; great contrast– almost like you captured two seasons at once. Glad the CG is making progress, and that you returned from the appointment unscathed. You’re so right– that first winter driving day of the season is about 100 times more dangerous than anything that follows! : P

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

