Old Car Nostalgia

Nostalgia is a file that removes the rough edges from the good old days.
– Doug Larson –

7-fargo2

The Car Guy has a 1950 Fargo half ton. It has been in his family since the early ’60’s. It isn’t all that comfortable to ride in, and it no longer does any particular job around here since a newer truck was purchased. But I expect the Fargo will stay in the family for many more years because it is a link to a place and time that is now only a memory. This photo of the Fargo has had a drawing filter applied.

The Car Guy has been thinking about adding a Hot Rod to his fleet, so this summer we attended a few car shows. What we discovered was – we have very different opinions as to what would be the perfect Hot Rod.

7-classiccar2-pencil-sketch

I took pictures of some of my favourites and when I looked at them after the show I realized that they all had two googly eyes (headlights) – old Fords, I think.

They were all nice and shiny too, but I wanted to make them look like a pencil sketch, so I used the appropriate filter.

7-classiccar1-pencil-sketch

If I had asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses.
– Henry Ford –

7-classiccar3-pencil-sketch

 

7-classiccar4-pencil-sketch

People can have the Model T in any color – so long as it’s black.
– Henry Ford –

7-classiccar5-pencil-sketch

I see no advantage in these new clocks. They run no faster than the ones made 100 years ago.
– Henry Ford –

It has been a month and a half since the last car show. Much has changed since then. The Harley has been written off, six inches of snow covers the ground, and the stores are already playing Christmas Music. Time to hunker down and think fondly of better days – both in the past and to come.

If you could go back to the “Good Old Days”, when would that be?

 Post 371

15 thoughts on “Old Car Nostalgia

  1. What a wonderful quote about nostalgia and I love the polish and character of the Fargo! Sorry to hear about the Harley but you still have the Car Guy!

    My favourite good old days, I want to go to Acapulco circa 1962!

    Like

  2. Love those Henry Ford quotes. I would only want to go back 40-50 years and it would be only because the environment would be so much better. Cleaner air, more birds, fewer people, less traffic. Guess that is about the size of it.

    Like

    • Every time I drive the freeway into the city, I moan about all the traffic. Then there are the warehouses that are being constructed less than a mile from our back door. Yes, I would be happy to go back – even 20 years would be good.

      Like

  3. Your Car Guy and my Husband clearly were cut from the same cloth (as were probably a lot of other men ‘of a certain age’). Husband bought a Ford straight 6 engine last fall and spent most of the past year tuning it (his passion is ‘go fast’ engines; he used to work in the trade – and built/drove all sorts of hot rods in his youth – before taking up a career as a computer science professor just about the time we met – go figure); his plan is to put the engine into an old Ford pick-up (although not quite as old as Car Guy’s Fargo) when we retire to the country. He just bought himself a ‘needs work’ 1987 Thunderbird Turbo Coupe and has already started building a turbo charged 4 cylinder engine to go into it (other parts – including a new gas tank – are currently lurking in the downstairs shower that no one uses, since the garage is full of working vehicles as well as all Husband’s tools). My ‘favourite’ car (before my red Mustang) was a 1975 Firebird – alas, I had to sell it in 1981 when Son #1’s car seat wouldn’t fit into the back; Husband has promised to find me one someday and rebuild it to his spec (then – watch out!) As I write this, I realize how odd it is that 15 years ago I didn’t know a cylinder head from piston and now I (almost) understand how engines work!

    Like

    • Yes, it does sound like our guys are a lot alike. The Car Guy and his dad restored the Fargo, and are almost finished restoring a 1970 Challenger T/A. They did all the work on the Corvette too. He likes working on the old cars – he doesn’t have the electronic equipment to do much on the new vehicles.

      Like

  4. Doggone it, old Henry Ford was right: new clocks don’t run any faster than the old ones. So much for the illusion of progress… : P

    Back in time. Easy: 1959. Penny candy was still a penny, and the only place you could get a crummy Christmas present after 5 PM on Christmas Eve was the drug store. : )

    Like

    • You and I must be of similar ages! In the town I lived in, we didn’t even have a drug store nearby. The little local store was also where our post box was and if we were real lucky, mom would give us a penny to spend when she sent us to pick up the mail. Some candy was two pieces for a penny. My favourite was Double Bubble gum – long lasting entertainment.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

