Home – The LEGO Businessman and the Oranges

December found us far from Home, though at a place we are learning to call home – our Snowbird place in Arizona. The gathering of the clan at Christmas was a smaller event than usual and Christmas morning was a quiet affair. At least it was until a stranger appeared in my Christmas stocking. He said he was just a Businessman, but there was something about his bowler hat that hinted he had a secret agenda.

We decided to spy on him! Armed with only our cameras and our wits, we syrupti… serrepti… surreptitiously followed him around for the next few days. Here is what we found:

oranges

Businessman spent a lot of time investigating a bowl of oranges.  On the surface, it all seemed innocent enough…

half oranges

But apparently there was one bad one in the bunch. Businessman coldly bisected it and skewered it with a cocktail fork.

walking

Later that day, we found him up on the roof of the house with the stalk of another orange in his hand. We heard him whisper, “This is one body they are never going to find.”

navigation

Businessman’s behaviour was unsettling, so we quickly juiced the rest of the oranges and hoped he would leave. And leave he did. With only a cursory glance at the GPS and a stare that told us we should forget we had ever seen him…

riding

he left in as mysterious a manner as he had arrived.

confetti

Days later, we read that a Businessman had lost his life in an unfortunate accident involving a paper shredder. It happened in Orange County, Florida.

_________________________

The photos for this story were the result of a challenge. Each of us had to photograph the Businessman – no one else could see the result until all the photos were taken.

Of all modern notions, the worst is this: that domesticity is dull. Inside the home, they say, is dead decorum and routine; outside is adventure and variety. But the truth is that the home is the only place of liberty, the only spot on earth where a man can alter arrangements suddenly, make an experiment or indulge in a whim. The home is not the one tame place in a world of adventure; it is the one wild place in a world of rules and set tasks.

– G.K. Chesterton –

Post 383

36 thoughts on “Home – The LEGO Businessman and the Oranges

  1. AWESOME! I think your “businessman” and his adventure is my favorite entry for the home photo challenge. I also love his clever accessories – from the newspaper to the briefcase.

    Like

  2. LOL So funny and cute. Kinda reminds me of the “traveling gnomes” that people take on vacations, photograph and then return to their home. I have a friend who takes a knit sheep on trips and photographs him for her blog. Her friends have borrowed him to do the same. He is a worldly traveler now.

    Like

    • We met some people who had two small stuffed bears that they would pose in their travel photos. It was cute, until I heard them explaining the history of the area to the bears.

      Like

  3. What a fantastic photo shoot! I’m going to try something like this next Christmas. I always (still) put a Lego set in the boys’ stockings (they’re 31 and 26 – but they’re still kids to me) and they ‘challenge’ each other to see who can put their together the quickest (son #1 usually wins – he’s got a mind like a steel trap for puzzles and such). This year I think I’ll dig up some Lego people (maybe out of the GIANT bin still in the basement) and set a challenge for each of them (I’ll include the girlfriends). I’ll have to think on what exactly I want to do but you’ve given me inspiration. Thanks!

    Like

  4. I thought this was brilliant. I’ve done something similar with Stikfas figures (nowhere near as good a story as you’ve told here) but have always had a soft spot for Lego characters. I really have to know- which Lego series is the businessman from? (I am loving the newspaper and briefcase mainly)

    Like

    • Businessman is Series 8. I just got the Series 9 figure called Battle Mech. I think the Chicken Suit Guy would have been more fun. I really don’t enjoy buying those mini-figure packages. I’m no good at squeezing them and guessing what is inside.

      Like

  5. This is great. I’m going to have to share this with my grandchildren who are crazy about Legos. They have a perpetual Lego city in one room of their house. May I steal the idea of sharing the photographs of their Lego lives?

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

