Fire in the Hole! Oven Element Burns Up

Did I ever tell you about The Car Guy’s To Do List? It contains things that I put on it (see Pink Jobs and Blue Jobs for an explanation of what kinds of tasks I put on his list) and things that he adds. He often adds items after he has done them, and then he immediately crosses them off.  He likes his list to look like it is close to completion.

The original lists were probably carved in stone and represented longer periods of time. They contained things like ‘Get More Clay. Make Better Oven.
– David Viscott –

This week he added Order a new oven bake element from Amazon.com.

oven element

We’ve never had an oven element self destruct before. It is pretty dramatic. It started in one spot with a spark like you see when someone is welding. This white hot spot slowly inched along the element, even after The Car Guy turned the oven off. It stopped as soon as he closed the electrical breaker.

This seemed infinitely more sensible than the recommendation from some guy on the internet who said he tried to put the same kind of fire out by dousing it with water.

Post 390

22 thoughts on “Fire in the Hole! Oven Element Burns Up

  1. Glad CG was able to stop it before it got out of hand. We had two old stoves catch fire in our early years of marriage. The first one was our second Easter when we invited my folks up for Easter dinner. The stove caught fire, we called the fire department and our apartment owners, and the fire department put out the fire and the apartment owner brought in another stove immediately from another apartment so we could finish making dinner. Except for a little painting in the kitchen, nothing else sustained any damage. We just remember how nice the apartment owner was.

    Like

  2. Wow! That is scary and I never knew could happen. How old was the oven? I am assuming it was an electric one. I have a friend who would turn her oven on low to cook something and leave her house for a couple hours or more. Good thing it never happened to her!

    Like

    1. I had never heard of an oven element burning up before either. The oven is new to me, but I suspect it has been in this house for many, many years.
      I sure don’t recommend leaving the house with something cooking in the oven – not after this experience, any how.

      Like

    1. The funny part of the experience was that I had a package of foil wrapped potatoes/onions in the oven. They weren’t cooked yet, but we left them in the oven after we cut the power. The sparking from the element raised the temperature, I suppose, and by leaving the oven door closed the potatoes finished cooking just fine.

      Like

  3. Clever husband you have. He not only stops fires, but he conquers his long to-do lists. I love how he adds things and then crosses them out. I must try that. It will make me have a sense of accomplishment at day’s end! 🙂

    Like

  4. My list for today:

    1. Read Margie’s blog….check
    2. Laugh at CG’s cleverness…..check
    3. Say thanks that Margie and CG still have a home…..check
    4. Find circuit breaker for stove …..check
    5. Check all elements in my stove…..check.
    6. Take nap…..ch….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Like

  5. I’m a lot like Car Guy. I love my lists. It gives me a such a sense of accomplishment to see all those tasks crossed off. And it makes hubby think I’ve been very busy all day. LOL! Method in the madness… what can I say?

    Like

    1. I don’t make as many lists as I used to. If something isn’t on my list, I don’t feel as much compulsion to do the task, and as much disappointment when I don’t get it done.

      Like

  6. The only cooking contraption I’ve seen spark and melt down was the one microwave we had. I thought I had turned on the clock. I hadn’t. I have not ever used the kitchen timer on our new one. 🙂

    Like

    1. That must have been quite scary!
      Our oven and microwave are so complicated that I have to get out the manual and take a refresher course now and then just to start the self clean oven or nuke something with less than full power. My kitchen appliances do much more than I am capable of understanding.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

