Pronunciation Test: Escape or Es-ca-pay?

There is a hill behind the cabin and at the very top is a huge pasture. We often see horses up there, yet we never see them down in our valley. I don’t really understand why they don’t escape from their confines – the fence is down in many places.

Alberta

I suppose, to the horses, the grass is simply not greener on the other side of the fence. They do not want to ‘es-ca-pay’!

Dory: [Reading a sign on a door] Hey, look. “Es-ca-pay”! Hey, it’s spelled just like escape.
– Dory the Blue Tang fish in the movie ‘Finding Nemo’ –

I always thought that Ford Motors should have used Dory’s mispronunciation of ‘Escape’ to promote their Ford Escape.  ‘Es-ca-pay’ sounds so much more daring than plain old ‘escape’.

When we were living in the Middle East, I drove a bright red Jeep Cherokee. One day a British women approached me (and my Jeep) and said, “Oh, I just love your Chur-o-key!” It took me a few seconds to realize that she was referring to my car. (Cherokee, to me, starts with a ‘chair’ sound, to her it starts with a ‘chur’ as in church sound.)

The lesson I learned from my years overseas is that there is more than one way to pronounce a great many words, and the sooner you accept that, the more fun language becomes.

I can ‘es-ca-pay in my chur-o-key’ – what words are you willing to liberate?

Other Photos for this Challenge: Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape

Post 402

25 comments

  1. We are a Ford family…Fusions, F-150s, Focuses, Mustangs, an old Windstar and numerous Es-ca-pays. I think they will like the new, updated pronunciation. 😉

    Like

  2. Sometimes I think animals just know their border. So, whether the fence is down or not they know the fence line is there so they don’t cross. My goats amazingly never leave our property even though when we are home we let them roam free.

    Like

  3. My kids have the usual collection of childish pronunciations. My son (almost 11) still says “helment” instead of “helmet”, and he gets embarrassed when we try to correct him so we’ve given up. My daughter would coin words by accident – instead of “yesterday”, she’d say “lasterdays”. Always plural. And it makes a certain amount of sense – last week, lasterdays. You don’t say something happened “yester week”, do you?!

    Like

  4. Growing up we would ‘argue’ about how to pronounce words that differ by location: route, bouquet, envelop, creek for example. It was fun to come up with the words and then see who would win.

    Like

  5. The Canadian provinces:

    Newfoundland… Is it New-found-land? Or New-fund-land?
    Quebec: Kwe-bek? Or Kay-bek?
    And my favourite… Saskatchewan: My American cousins pronounce it Saska-chew-on. LOL!

    Like

    • Those are excellent examples. We’ve decided that some place names get shortened by the locals, which makes it easy to know if a person is from ‘away’. A guest says ‘Cal-gar-ee’. A local says ‘Cal-gry’.

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

