Unplugging from the Web – Flowers Help to Heal

It’s called ‘The Web’ because once you’re in it, you are stuck.
– Terry Hall –

I’m going to take some time off – see if I can find a new Happy Place.  I know it exists somewhere here in my mind, but I’m not having much luck finding it right now.

So, I’m going to unplug for a while. I hope you will come back to visit my blog when I return!

Before I go, here are the photos I took the last time I was at the cabin. It is quite remarkable what is blooming out there. All 305 homes were destroyed, yet the flowers are cheerfully acting like nothing happened!

columbine

A yellow Columbine or Aquilegia.

A pink Rose. It is a hardy bush rose, but I don’t know it is called. I wish I had one in my yard!

white

A white Shasta Daisy. These grow like weeds at my place.

orange

An orange Daylily. I have these in my yard, but they never look this good!

white

A white Mallow or Sidalcea. I’m really guessing on whether that is what this is.  It has leaves like a cranesbill geranium, but flower buds like a little hollyhock.

false sunflower

An orange Heliopsis helianthoides ‘Asahi’ – commonly called a False Sunflower. I’m guessing that is what this flower is called…

I hope I’ll be able to return to Hidden Valley next year to see what is blooming – but I don’t expect the Siksika Nation will allow us to enter once our buildings have been demolished and removed, and our lease has expired.

Before I go, please  tell me if you have ever taken a blog holiday. How long did you leave your blog to fend for itself? Did you find what you were looking for while you were gone?

Post 452

28 comments

  1. Recharging is necessary, especially when one has had something so emotionally draining as flooding to deal with and the destruction that comes with it. You’d be non-human if you didn’t feel the need for a break! Your blog will be here for when you get back….have a good break! Look after yourself first.

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

