Hail – An Abrupt End to the Veggie Garden

I’ve planted a vegetable garden just about every year of my adult life.  Some years the produce is bountiful. I get so many zucchini that people who come to visit lock their car doors – they don’t want to end up with the zucchini stowaways that I slip onto the front seat when they are not looking.

Some years, though, parts of the garden go missing. The white tail deer are especially fond of beans, lettuce and carrots.  One year an underground rodent of some description ate many of the potatoes.

The most destruction, however, comes from a hail storm.

Hail! We could hear the distinctive plonk sound on the roof as each white pellet fell from the sky.  Within minutes the ground was littered with battered leaves and drifts of hail stones.

Hail stones – pea to ‘mothballs on steroids’ size.
The hail created ice dams at the bottom of each downspout.

The damage to everything green was extensive.

Shredded sunflower leaves.
hail damage
The remnants of a white lily.
Hail stones caught in the branches of the spruce trees.

And the Vegetable Garden – the photos are too gruesome to publish…

I can’t remember ever having two hail storms in one day, but four hours after the first storm, another rolled in. The sound of the hail on the roof warned us that these hailstones were even larger than the ones from the earlier storm.

Hail stones 3.175 cm (1.25 inches) across.

Hail this size is scary.  It was a relief once it finally stopped! By then it was too late in the day to go outside to assess the damage,  so we contented ourselves with merely mopping up the few spots inside the house where the driving rain/hail had entered through a leak in the roof and under one door.

The next morning we surveyed the damage. Plants with big green leaves don’t have big leaves any more. Plants with little green leaves have fewer leaves. Plants with narrow green leaves – less damage. Thistles – seemingly unscathed.

The mosquito population seems undiminished…

Our roofer will arrive eventually to fix the leak and check the shingles and eavestrough – but we are far from being the first in line. Other homes were hit even harder than us.

Storms come, and are so personal, they seem to know your address and have the key to your house.
– Reverend Jesse Jackson –

Do you ever ask yourself why you live where you do? What roots keep you tethered to a place that seems so determined to make you want to leave it!?

Post 478

28 comments

  1. Oh yes, I’ve asked myself that question more than once. This is so frustrating, I’m sure, when you’ve put so much hard work into the vegetable garden. I hope it rebounds as Mother Nature sometimes does so beautifully. Were the cars okay?

    Like

    • All the vehicles were fine. The Car Guy has downsized the fleet so that everything can fit in the garage and the shed!
      We’ll see if any of the veggies recover!

      Like

  2. Oh, so very sorry about all the damage. And, yes, I’ve often wondered why folks remain in an area where weather can be such an issue. (Of course, I can’t imagine ever living anywhere but here!)

    Like

    • We came out of it pretty good compared to others. I was just talking to a lady whose windows were broken, siding destroyed, cars pockmarked, etc. It will take months for them to get all those repairs done!

      Like

  3. Oh, Margie–so sorry to hear of the damage to your garden and yard plants…I read online about the storms and saw lots of pics of cars with broken windshields and dented roofs, so I’m happy that at least your vehicles were protected–but you can’t munch on them when you’re hungry, can you, not even with large dollops of butter and a little bit of salt and pepper…maybe your plants will spring back from this, or is it too late in the summer for that?

    Like

    • Hi Sylvia – yes, the storms did a lot of damage around here, and we were very fortunate that we didn’t have any broken windows or dented roofs!
      It is hard to say if the veggies will have time to bounce back before the first frost hits – but that could be a whole month away, so there is certainly time for some of the plants to rebound!

      Like

  4. Goodness that’s some fierce hail that hammered down on you. I don’t think I’ve ever seen hail that large. I hope your roof is fixed soon. It’s always interesting how Mother Nature heals the wounds and flourishes on. I’m sorry about your garden, that’s such a downer. Bless your hearts.

    Like

  5. I was thinking about you when I saw the news that you had been struck by 2 hail storms a few hours apart. I imagine that your garden and yard were looking pretty amazing at this time of year. It is so disheartening when Mother Nature whipes out your hard work in a few minutes. Take care.

    Like

    • Hi Ev. The yard was looking really good this year. That’s what happens when I am home to weed and not at the cabin. I put a couple reclining lawn chairs under the trees in the back yard, and when I had had enough weeding and other such things, I’d take a book and a tall cold drink and head out to the chairs. “I’m going to the cabin for a few hours, I’d tell everyone.”

      Like

  6. I’m sorry that the storm smashed your hard work. I am curious where this storm happened….yes, we did have something here in Calgary a few wks. ago. Such a hailstorm, pits cars and can damage house roofs.

    Like

    • Hi Jean – this was that central Alberta storm that stopped just north of Calgary. I talked to one lady from the City of Airdrie who had house windows broken!

      Like

  7. Your last thought about “what roots keep you tethered to a place that seems so determined to make you want to leave it” intrigues me. Consider the fact that some of the most idyllic places on earth come with built in hazards. The Amalfi Coast of Italy comes with the dangers of volcanos and mudslides. San Francisco, CA has cold summers (miserable weather in general) and earthquakes to boot. The Caribbean has hurricanes; Bali has typhoons. If you want to assure yourself of living with no volcanos, mudslides, cold summers, earthquakes, hurricanes or typhoons, then live on the moon (or west Texas). Wait! On the moon, you could be hit with a meteor and in west Texas you could be hit by… nothing!

    Like

    • I would have to add Arizona to your list of places that have no volcanos, cold summers, etc. I was there a few weeks ago and it was 108 degrees F!
      I suppose the grass always looks greener someplace else, but our roots keep us anchored so that we can weather the storms. Surviving the hail or snow or hurricanes or typhoons is what makes us stronger! How else can I explain why Canada still has anyone left living in it!

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

