From Arizona to Alberta – Grand Canyon

In the foothills of the Mazatzal Mountains in Arizona, the cool night time air has a moderating effect on the heat that climbs up from the desert in the valley. But as spring progresses, the heat becomes more intense earlier and earlier in the day. When we start to think it would be a good time to check out how the air conditioner is working, we know it is  time to leave the desert and head north to Alberta.

So we packed up our Jeep and began a long and scenic journey home. The Car Guy was confident that the Jeep GPS System would guide us, but he packed a paper map book just in case. He had a number of maps to choose from, but selected the one put out by Harley Davidson because it highlighted the most scenic routes… for motorcycles.

Early in the trip, the Jeep GPS declared a distaste for conventional routes, as if to say, “I am a Jeep – I want to feel the rocks and mud beneath my feet- I reject these surfaces you call pavement…”  We were not keen on traveling from Arizona to Alberta by dirt roads, so I consulted the map book that The Car Guy had packed and chose another route.

Jeep was not enthusiastic about this twisty, winding motorcycle friendly road, and didn’t hesitate to tell us:  “Make a u-turn if possible. Make a u-turn if possible. MAKE A U-TURN IF POSSIBLE!”  When Jeep eventually accepted we weren’t turning around, it’s digital read out erased the road as we progressed, as if to say, “I do not approve of your choice. I will hide this road.”

By the end of the first day we had arrived at the rim of the Grand Canyon. The main viewing lookout was packed with tourists from all over the world. Most of them had their cell phones mounted on sticks so that they could document their ‘trip of a lifetime’ with selfies. We noticed, however, that our shadows were clinging to a rock face a short distance beyond the safety of the guard rail – so I took a shadow selfie.

There are no words to describe the Grand Canyon. If you have never been there, go. If you have been there before, go again.  If you are there during tourist season, go early in the morning, or near sunset – there are fewer people.

 

… Nothing prepares you for the Grand Canyon. No matter how many times you read about it or see it pictured, it still takes your breath away. Your mind, unable to deal with anything on this scale, just shuts down and for many long moments you are a human vacuum, without speech or breath, but just a deep, inexpressible awe that anything on this earth could be so vast, so beautiful, so silent.
– Bill Bryson, The Lost Continent –

Do you trust your GPS, or do you still depend on your paper maps?

Post 495

8 comments

  1. Umm, what’s a GPS? We don’t have one of those fancy gadgets or a fancy phone with the capability of GPS. We still use the old paper maps. If we are lucky the map won’t be older than 10 years! Great pictures as usual! I have never seen the Grand Canyon but I hope I get to one of these years!

    Like

    • To be honest, I don’t trust the Jeep’s GPS (global positioning system), so I always check a map first before we set off anywhere. The history of GPS could be a blog post in itself, but suffice it to say we have the United States government to thank for the creation and maintenance of a service that is freely accessible to anyone with a GPS receiver… how the receiver interprets that information is Jeep’s story…

      Like

  2. I am a long haul trucker, and I firmly believe in the magic of maps. They are just lines on a page, but they let me wonder, and imagine, what it is really like there.
    I haven’t yet seen the Grand Canyon, and I hope one day to take my wife there. Your pictures are gorgeous. They brought to mind the trip up I70 thru the south of Utah; the San Rafael Drift. Huge vistas and red rock canyons What a stunning part of the world.

    Like

    • I love maps! The GPS has it’s place, but it doesn’t give a sense of the big picture.

      We only drove the I70 for a few miles after a night in Richfield. Yes, that part of the world is full of excellent scenery!

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

