Post 500 – 5.5 Years and 5 Petal Flowers

I try not to assign too much importance to numbers, especially the ones I have no control over- like age and height. But the number ‘5’ – this year it just begs to be noticed and celebrated! It popped up on my radar in January with the calendar of 2015. Then in April (a month with 5 letters) I observed my 65th birthday.

The day has long passed when my mom would have made a big deal out of my birthday, especially one with the number ‘5’ in it. The photo below is my 5th birthday party. My mom let me invite 5X2  friends and she wisely baked 2 cakes to feed them all.

My 5th Birthday Party (scanned photo with pencil filter.)

More ‘5’sthe Car Guy and I have been married for 45 years! I started this blog 5.5 years ago. This is my 500th post.

The number ‘5’ – while it is maddeningly unequal when you try to divide it evenly, it is pleasantly symmetrical in many ways. Perhaps that is why we draw stars with 5 points, and the design of The Pentagon was retained, even when a new site was chosen and the need for that shape was no longer a factor.

Five sided shapes are not nearly as easy to make as 4 sided ones – except in the world of flowers, where 5 petals are numerous. (See Five Petals: The Mysterious Number “5” Hidden In Nature by Yutaka Nishiyama).

Photos of my gardens confirm how numerous 5 petals are:

Jacob’s Ladder (Polemonium caeruleum) – Alberta

Wild Blue Flax (Linum lewisii) – Alberta

Blue Potato Bush (Lycianthes rantonnei) – Arizona

Shooting Star (Dodecatheon) – Alberta

Unidentified – Alberta

I’d like to end this post with a pun or quotation, but I can’t find one. I’ve become stuck on the last photo, because I can’t figure out what the plant is.

Normally, I would just put this post on the back burner for a while and post something else, but I can’t. This, for better, for worse, in sickness and in health, till death us do part, is Post 500

Post 500

24 thoughts on “Post 500 – 5.5 Years and 5 Petal Flowers

  1. Congratulations on your 65th birthday and your 45th anniversary with Car Guy. It made me stop and think and question how long it has been since the guys met at school and then I realized we celebrated our 46th in May! As “they” say – time flies when you are having fun and we are still having fun!

    Like

    • I was looking at old photos the other day – the ones from when we lived next door. If it seems hard to believe how long ago that was, just think about the fact we have kids that are more than 40 years old!

      Like

  2. You go, Girl! I thought I was an old-time blogger at 4 years. Well you showed me, didn’t you? 🙂

    Five was always my lucky number. Why? Because for some reason I can only attribute to teenage hormone run amok, I wanted to be a cheerleader for our high school basketball team. The number given to me for the tryouts was “5.” I couldn’t do a cartwheel, Russian Split, regular split, or anything that required inversion and grace, but I got on the team. Was it my preposterous pep? Was it the fact that I had memorized all of the nonsensical words and robotic movements to the cheers? Was it that there were only five females who showed up for the tryouts? Was it my long blonde hair, blue eyes and bouncing boobs? Yup. That last one…

    Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

