Spare Time Crafting Stories – Knitting

My mom was a knitter. She knit in her spare time – but she could knit in ‘unspare’ time too. By that, I mean she was a multitasker long before that term became popular. She could knit and watch TV. She could knit and enjoy the scenery on long road trips. She could knit and have conversations with friends. She probably could have knit and played bridge if Dad had built some sort of card holder for her.

Knit Bobbles

My children are knitters too. Eldest daughter likes to knit in her spare time. Wander over to her blog, The Good Life List and you will see a photo of this lovely project when it was finished.

Knit Loopy

Middle daughter likes to knit too. She takes her knitting on road trips (like her grandma). Last I heard she couldn’t multitask – she has to watch the progress of each and every stitch very carefully. If she doesn’t, she ‘drops stitches’ which is a knitters term that means a stitch got lost about 6 rows ago.

Knit Loopy wool

Youngest daughter knits, though I don’t think she has as much passion for that as she does for making lampwork glass beads (Beadlejuice Beads). The dog is a good model for knitted scarves, but not so good for glass bead necklaces and bracelets.

Knit Sweater
Me? If the love of knitting is passed down from generation to generation, it skipped mine. I don’t remember my mom even trying to teach me to knit. That task, which must have been an incredible challenge, was given to a no nonsense family friend, Norrie. Norrie tried to teach me European knitting and how to make Scottish Shortbread Cakes.

To Norrie’s and my credit, I did knit several sweaters. Bob, in the photo above, is wearing the first one I ever completed. I made it for The Car Guy while we were still dating. Bob has had the sweater on for just over an hour now, and that is the longest it has ever been worn. Enough said.

Un-knit

knitting http://www.savagechickens.com/Over the years I did knit a few other things, but I can’t claim to enjoy it much. I like to buy wool, though. Sometimes I roll it into balls. Sometimes I even find a pattern and some needles. I might even think about knitting, but that is as far as I usually get!

Have you ever tried knitting? What do you like to do in your spare time?

This week’s WordPress.com photo Challenge is Spare.

Post 543

26 comments

  1. Your post would’ve worked great for the WP Weekly Photo Challenge. Spare is the theme.
    I tried knitting. I can do it, but I’m too impatient for it. I find I can crochet a bigger piece in the same time it takes me to knit a small piece. Although I like using a knitting loom for some projects.
    You did a great job on that sweater for someone who doesn’t particularly enjoy knitting.
    I’m glad your daughters knit. It must be quite heartening to see them enjoying the craft your Mom enjoyed.
    The lamp work beads sounds interesting. I think it would be a fun craft to do.
    That dog is so huggable and cute in the potato-chip scarf. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks E.C. – I managed to link to the Spare Challenge a few hours before it ended!
      I enjoy to crochet more than knit – but I just make little things. For a few years it was crochet snowflakes for my Christmas tree.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I seem to recall knitting a basic row or two as a child. Don’t know who showed me how. Probably my mom. I remember a girl in my dorm during my freshman year who cranked out sweaters like a factory. Gorgeous pieces, with those complex Nordic ski type patterns. We were in Boulder, at CU, and those were hot items. She could sit it a dorm meeting, carry on a conversation, and her fingers and needles would be flying the whole time. Amazing. But I’ve never gotten into myself. I just admire the work.

    Like

    • I admire knitting too. All this talk about knitting has inspired me to get the wool and needles out and see if the time is right to start being a knitter!

      Like

  3. I’m a knitter and I really enjoyed reading your post today. My grandmother taught me. My sister can, but doesn’t My mom did not knit (it was my father’s mother who taught me) but my mother sewed and did big wool latchhook rugs.
    I use it as stress relief and anxiety reducer. Seriously!

    Like

  4. Ther is the most amazing knitter in my writing group. Her fingers fly and needles tick and she never misses a beat. At the end of an hour she’ll have most of a sock finished and a manuscript edited. Sometimes she has knitting parties at her house. I drag my poor afghan I’ve been crocheting for the last 10 years. I put it on my lap and then yap and drink tea. Let’s just say I go to her parties for the social entertainment. I’m so impressed that you’ve knitted an entire sweater…I don’t care who wears it. That’s an accomplishment.

    Like

    • I could go to a knitting party too – I’ve got at least one unfinished project that involves wool and has been on the go for at least 10 years!
      The sweater took me about 10 years to finish too, but it was one of those projects that I was too invested in (time wise) to just abandon. It looks so good on Bob, that I think I’ll leave it on him.

      Like

    • Groan… The war on terrorism took a strange and sad turn Friday as airline officials at O’Hare International Airport refused to let a 73-year-old grandmother board her plane as she had in her possession two, six-inch knitting needles. Apparently authorities were worried that she may knit an Afghan.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am a basic crocheter who admires knitters, even those who can make sweaters like yours! I am a very fast crocheter and can churn out lovely scarves but have a hard time following patterns. Crocheting is a good mindless activity that’s calming. I get the urge in October when the weather cools. Kudos to your Mom and the folks in your family who have inherited the creative knitting talent. 🙂 Love your post.

    Like

  6. This is a great read. You reminde me of my aunt who has knitted all her life barely looking at her work, and glancing at a new pattern from time to time. She has knitted for the world, dolls for african children, hats ect for Syrian children at the moment. She’s in her eighties now.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My mother taught me to knit and I still do occasionally … but the extent of my knitting prowess is to churn out squares. I have a large bag of them, but I have no inclination to do anything with them. They seem to simply be proof of my restlessness.

    Now I colour instead 🙂

    Like

  8. Decades ago I taught myself to crochet, and then a few years later tried to teach myself to knit. But i just couldn’t get the knack of going from the one hook to two knitting needles…something about the tension or my left hand being lazy? I’ve tried several times since to learn, sometimes with knitters trying to teach me, but no success, So I’m a lost cause as a knitter.

    Like

    • I’m a lost cause too, but I really should take a crochet project to work on when I’m surrounded by a group of family members who are all knitting!

      Like

There, I'm finished. Now it is your turn:

